Poison Study – Maria V. Snyder

Published by

on

Poison StudyFormat: Paperback
Publisher: MIRA Books
Series: The Chronicles of Ixia
Pages: 409

Rating: 2/5

The Blurb

Choose: A quick death…Or slow poison…

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear.

(Blurb from Goodreads.com)

Review

I have many mixed feelings about Poison Study, hence the 2 out of 5 rating. My cousin had read this book previous to me and suggested I gave it a go.

When I first started, I thought it was a little too descriptive, there seemed to be explanation in everything. I honestly didn’t think it needed that much detail. However, the more I read the more the descriptions seemed to soften out and you could paint a better picture of the world of Ixia.

Poison Study focuses on Yelena who is a feisty individual with a shocking past. She’s a convicted murderer who is given second wind by being offered the role of Food Taster. Who wouldn’t want to be a Food Taster? Well, unless you love the taste of poison, no one would. Yelena has to ensure that the Commander’s food has not been tampered with. As a character I loved her more than I thought I would. I think it’s because you get to hear about her past and realise that in fact there are always two sides to a story and just because she’s a convicted murderer you shouldn’t judge.

Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed. Now don’t get me wrong the book is well written and researched thoroughly, but it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. As much as things happened in the story and you do get involved, it didn’t live up to the blurb or expectations. I love Fantasy so I’m quite sad that I have to only give Poison Study 2 out of 5.

My review has not been written to put the author down or de-credit her work, the book was just not for me and I’m sure many others of you have read, will read, and love it.

You can purchase ‘Poison Study’ on Amazon and find Maria V Snyder at www.mariavsnyder.com.

2 responses to “Poison Study – Maria V. Snyder”

  1. @afternoonbooker Avatar

    Thats a shame that you didn’t get on with the book, but its great for an honest review xx

    1. abookandtea Avatar

      I always want to be honest, yet without sounding like I’m being horrible.

Previous Post
Next Post

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com