The Moment – Claire Dyer

The MomentFormat: Paperback
Publisher: Quercus Books
Published: Sept’ 2013
Pages: 324

Rating: 4/5

The Blurb
Paddington station, nine a.m., rush hour. As the crowds ebb and flow, time suddenly stands still for two people: Fern and Elliott, ex-lovers who parted twenty-five years before and never expected to see each other again.

But here they are, face to face, and the connection is as powerful as it was the day they first met. Their lives have moved on – to marriage, children and divorce – yet neither has stopped regretting the day that drove them apart.

Fern gives Elliott her number and they tentatively arrange to meet again that evening when both will be travelling back through the station. And, as the day ticks on, and the memories resurface, both Fern and Elliott reflect on the past. As their emotions go round in circles, so does the Paddington clock, counting down the minutes to eight p.m. – and the moment the future is in their hands.

(Taken from goodreads.com)

The Review
I’m sure you all know just how excited I have been to read The Moment and I certainly wasn’t disappointed; it was great.

Fern and Elliott are ex-lovers and meet one random morning whilst waiting at Paddington Station. They contemplate their lives past and present and wonder what would happen if they had made different decisions.

I really liked how you could find out more about them because I don’t think it would have been a good read if it was full of ‘I wish I never left him’ and ‘I loved her’ rubbish. There is definitely a time and place and this wouldn’t be it.

Elliott to me was a character that I warmed too. I felt hatred towards him for what he did to Fern, but he does have a heart of gold and I think the fact he had to deal with his Dad’s illness and selling of his childhood home softened him up. Fern on the other hand was a character everyone woman could relate too – well those with family and children. It made me think about my future and what could happen to me and personally, it made me smile at what’s to come.

The only thing I didn’t like about The Moment is the use of the ‘see you next Tuesday word’ (it beings with a c if you’re a bit confused). However, this is my personal feeling and I have never liked the word, so it doesn’t make any difference to how much I loved the book.

If you’re after a book that makes you think about life, warms up your heart and makes you smile, this is definitely it!

You can find Claire on Twitter at @clairedyer1 and online at www.clairedyer.com

Purchase The Moment on Amazon or Paperback.

Leave a Reply

