The Art of Letting Go – Anna Bloom

The Art of Letting GoFormat: Kindle (E-Book)
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Published: Sept’ 2013
Pages: 393
Series: The Uni Files

Rating: 5/5!!!!!!!

The Blurb
One year. One woman. One Diary. One question: can you ever stop history from repeating itself and if you could what would you do to stop it?

When Lilah McCannon realises at the age of twenty-five that history is going to repeat itself and she is going to become her mother—bored, drunk and wearing a twinset—there is only one thing to do: take drastic action.

Turning her back on her old life, Lilah’s plan is to enrol at university, get a degree and prove she is a grown-up.

As plans go, it is a good one. There are rules to follow: no alcohol, no cigarettes, no boys and no going home. But when Lilah meets the lead singer of a local band and finds herself unexpectedly falling in love, she realises her rules are not going to be the only things hard to keep.

With the academic year slipping by too quickly, Lilah faces a barrage of new challenges: will she ever make it up the Library stairs without having a heart attack? Can she handle a day on campus without drinking vodka? Will she ever manage to read a history book without falling asleep? And most importantly, can she become the grown-up that she desperately wants to be.
With her head and her heart pulling her in different directions can Lilah learn the hardest lesson that her first year of university has to teach her: The Art of Letting Go?

(Taken from goodreads.com)

The Review

Gdoyxhpculdtispyxeuzypcy – that is my excitement after reading The Art of Letting Go. It was beautiful, oh so beautiful.

Delilah ‘Lilah’ McCannon is twenty five and working in her dad’s bank, which is boring her to death. However, one morning when suffering from the hangover from hell she decides to leave and enrol into University to study History. You’re never too old, right? Of course not! Whilst having a boozy evening she meets Ben, a guitar playing; blue eyed hottie. He treats her like a princess and gives her the world; what could possibly go wrong? Unfortunately it’s not plain sailing for the pair and they form a fun yet turbulent relationship. It’s hard not to follow their rollercoaster of emotions; but will they get their happy ending?

The Art of Letting Go is by for one of the best books I have read in a long time. Now, don’t get me wrong the others I have read previous have been great, but this just holds a certain place in my heart. Every girl (and guy) should have a copy whether they like it or not, it’s the law.

As much as I love Ben and his personality the story would not have been as good if it didn’t have someone like Lilah. She’s funny, straight to the point and just like you and me. Her story is told in the form of a diary and it’s a credit to Anna’s writing, it’s written really well. I felt like I knew Lilah and that I were reading a friend’s diary.

Personally, I related to how Lilah was feeling because at the age of 26, I too have no idea what I want in life and I’d love to just quit my job and go back to university – well, who wouldn’t? I think it’s just made me realise that you can do anything you want and if you’re happy, everyone else around you will follow suit.

I may sound overly soppy and emotional with the next part of my review, but I don’t care! After reading The Art of Letting Go it made me compare Ben and Lilah’s relationship to my boyfriend and me, minus the turbulence, though. It’s hard to explain why but it just reminds me how lovely my boyfriend is and if there was ever a character that I could compare him too it would be Ben. I’m sure many of you are rolling your eyes, but it’s true.

It’s actually really hard to put into words just how amazing the story is. It makes you feel good and emotional all at the same time and that’s not a bad thing believe me!

Anyway, why are you still here? Go, read it now!

You can find Anna on Twitter at @annabloombooks and online at http://annabloomwrites.com/

Purchase The Art of Letting Go on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

