Do you judge a book by its cover?

20131113-023830 pm.jpg
From the picture above – which one would you choose to read?

I asked people on Twitter and some book lovers offline and the results were quite interesting.

80% of people said they would read book B (Emma) and only 20% of people would read book A (Lolita). I didn’t tell them why I asked because I wanted the results to be as honest a possible. I have to admit I wasn’t surprised – even if deep down I was hoping I would be wrong.

The world is a very judgmental place and most of the time people judge you immediately based on your appearance and this is what happened with the research above.

From looking at theory, it seems judgements are based on previous experiences and how each person individually feels about certain situations.

Do you judge a book by its cover?

To a degree, I think everyone does. I will admit that I have judged a book based on its cover and I think maybe even refused to read it. Personally, I don’t think I judged it in a horrible ‘oh my, that cover is horrible’ way maybe more a ‘the cover doesn’t look exciting – I won’t read’ way.

As much as I believe that the content of a book should be what you care about, the cover should have an impact too. The cover and the blurb are essentially the two most important things and without them, how would you know what the book is about?

3 thoughts on “Do you judge a book by its cover?

  1. jennyinneverland says:

    I remember when you asked this – thought you were just choosing your next read ha-ha.
    I agree though, unfortunately most people do judge a book by it’s cover. If I’m in a book shop and don’t recognise any of the authors, the cover is the first thing you see so I only tend to pick a book up and read what it’s about if the cover looks interesting. It’s a shame! Good article : )
    – Jenny : ) xo

  2. Pam says:

    It would be interesting to see how many had actually read these books, too. I have read Lolita but not Emma. Would that influence my decision?

Leave a Reply

