The Traveller – Garrett Addison

The TravellerFormat: E-Book (Kindle)
Published: January 2nd 2013
Publisher: Self Published
Pages: 208

Rating: 3/5

The Blurb
Sometimes to get the measure of your life you just need a break from being yourself.

A family man struggling in his pursuit of a work/life balance embarks on yet another trip at the whims of his tyrannical bitch of a boss. But on this trip he is a world apart from his usual self. Suddenly confident, capable and unafraid of his manager, reclaiming his life becomes less about corporate advancement and satisfying his ego than outright revenge on his boss. With nothing but success in his wake and seemingly limitless potential at his disposal, being coerced to work with his nemesis in a remote corner of the world provides the opportunity for not just a confrontation, but a final solution to what he sees as the bane of his life. Succeed or fail, either way this trip will be the making of him or the end of him.

Sometimes to get the measure of your life you just need a break from being yourself… because nothing lasts forever.

The Review
Thank you to the author Garrett for sending me a copy to read and review. I thought this was going to be a fantastic read because I was immediately enticed by the description of ‘Part adventure, part revenge, part moral tale, part redemption’. I mean, that sounds great, doesn’t it?

The novel focuses on a businessman that travels often and seems to live out of his suitcase. Who would have thought that travelling around the world wasn’t as exciting as you’d imagine?

From a personal point of view I thought the novel lacked a little bit of conversation and dialogue. The writing style was from the mind of the main character (first person) and I’m not sure I could get my head around this. I would say that you shouldn’t be put off by this statement as all in all The Traveller was a good read.

I liked the confidence of the main character, who remains anonymous, and also, how much he hates his boss. I mean we don’t always get on with them do we? When he purchases a red suit I can only imagine him strutting down the street with his head held high. I will admit they I did find him slightly irritating at times. His confidence (as much as I liked him for it) did tend to make him act like a bit of a rude bastard. (I know a contradiction).

You can purchase ‘The Traveller’ on Amazon and in Paperback or Hardback.

You can also find out more about Garrett at www.garrettaddison.com and on Twitter at @garrettaddison

2 thoughts on “The Traveller – Garrett Addison

Leave a Reply

