The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

20140212-014939 pm.jpg
Format: Paperback
Published: 2012
Publisher: Penguin Books
Pages: 313 pages

Rating: 4/5

The blurb
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

The review
Well, it took me a while, didn’t it? I’m sure most if not all of you have read The Fault in Our Stars so I’m sure my review will only be a repeat of what you know. Anyway, it’s nice to read another opinion on something, I guess!

Now in all honesty I didn’t expect the novel to be how it was. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn’t this. My heart broke into several pieces and I’m sure I shed a few tears.

Hazel is a long suffering cancer patient that relies on a oxygen machine. Her worst nightmare is attending Support Group, but her Mother makes her go and who is Hazel to argue? One evening at Support Group she meets Augustus and in a roundabout way thanks her Mother for making her attend a group she hates. Hazel and Augustus form a loving relationship, that has laughter, tears and anger.

I’m quite an empathetic person so personally this book was difficult to read. I haven’t been through Cancer or even know anyone that has, it’s just the thought of death that scares me immensely. (Please excuse my feelings, it’s a little embarrassing).

Anyway… I think anyone suffering from an illness deserves a medal and it’s evident from Hazel and Augustus’s lives that they are strong (or try to be). I know they’re not expecting pity or sympathy, just more of an understanding.

I was a little confused as to why the author John Green made Hazel and Augustus’s characters appear older than they actually were. I mean they’re both meant to be 17 and 18 and in my head with their dialogue and ways it made me think they were a lot older. Perhaps it’s them both living their lives at a much quicker rate because they know they won’t live for much longer.

Don’t be fooled by the young adult stamp because any age would love the emotion that escapes the pages.

You can purchase ‘The Fault in our Stars’ on Amazon UK | Amazon US and also on Paperback!

Find out more about John Green on Twitter at @realjohngreen and also www.johngreenbooks.com.

One thought on “The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

Leave a Reply

