The Liebster Award

the-liebster-awardI’ve been nominated for The Liebster Award’ (I think this might be the second time!). Thank you to the lovely Simona from Sky’s Book Corner for nominating me; it makes me feel all special. Plus, she is an amazing friend and I think you should all go and visit her blog!

The Liebster Blog Award translates to “the beloved” or “the dearest”. The award is given as a way to celebrate smaller blogs. (Only blogs with under 200 followers can be awarded.) Before you accept the award, there are a certain set of tasks you must complete. The first is to reveal 11 facts about you, answer the 11 questions asked by the blogger who nominated you and then create 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer.

11 Facts About Me

1. I’m allergic to Medicine.
It’s the worst allergy to have because when I’m poorly and need to go to the Doctors they always give me terrible white liquid that tastes like crushed Paracetamol.

2. I have a phobia of foam and sponge
I have no idea where it comes from but even the thought of foam or sponge is making me twitch. It’s the texture of them I don’t like. I have been known to hit people if they tease me with it.

3. I don’t like Tomatoes
Yeah, that’s right, no Pizza (unless it has a BBQ base) or Spaghettiย  Bolognese. Although, I do have Tomato sauce.

4. I’ve worn glasses since I was 9 months old
That would mean I have worn glasses for 26 years! My first ever pair of glasses had ribbon so they could be tied around my head.

5. I can speak Welsh (well I could have a conversation in it)
Understandable really considering I live in Wales, but hey it’s a fact! The phrase everyone always learns first is ‘Dw i’n hoffi Coffi’ which is I like Coffee. Plus, I hate Coffee!

6. I’m an only child
I think I may have put my Mum off having any other children. I wasn’t a very healthy baby, you see.

7. For my day job, I am a Website Manager
I design websites, code applications and Tweet for my day job. It’s a little geeky, but I love it.

8. My favourite film of all time is Mary Poppins
Once you get passed the terrible British accents you will love it!

9. My favourite colour is blue
Blue of every shade is the nicest colour, ever!

10. I really like Pasta sandwiches
I know it’s very random, but believe me you should try it. Any type of bread, butter or margarine, cooked Pasta and say ham, or any meat.

11. I’ve never broken a bone
Thankfully, I’ve always been lucky. I’ve had a sprained ankle and things like that, but nothing serious.

It was actually pretty hard to think of 11 facts, I must be a very boring person! Now, onto the questions asked by Simona.

11 Questions from Simona

How long have you been blogging and why did you start doing it?
I started blogging in September 2013 and it was because I wanted to make new friends who loved books and to show everyone what books I liked and why.

Who is your celebrity crush and why? (you can also have more than one ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
I’m always rubbish at things like this because I can never think of anyone. I obviously look at Celebrities and go ‘Oh, I like you’ but I’m not that bothered about them. Yes, I’m a girl, I promise!

What inspires you?
I think people, places and books inspire me the most. It’s usually what they tell you or how they act that inspires me to be who I am. I try and hold a positive mentality because being negative just doesn’t help. I have, and still do, suffer from Mental Illness, I’m just better at dealing with it.

Which is the book which has made the greatest impact on you?
Erm, I think ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee had an impact on me because it made me realize that people are horrible over silly little things and since reading I have always treated people like royalty.

What’s your drink of choice?
I think it would be Tea! I love it, a lot! I’m happy to try different flavours. If you mean an alcoholic choice it would be Dark Rum!

In your opinion, what is the best blog post you’ve written so far? Give us the link.
Big headed as it sounds I’m impressed with my blog in general. I didn’t think I’d have the confidence to post what I have. Also, the support from everyone has been amazing.

What is your favorite restaurant?
There are quite a few places I like to eat and they are Nando’s, TGI Friday’s and a Noodle Bar (where I live).

What does your dream house look like?
Oh, this is a GOOD question. I would have to build it myself because if it’s my dream house, I’m allowed, right? I’d have a kitchen and diner together, a living room with lots of comfy sofas and chairs, a selection of bedrooms and a room entirely for my books, a library. I’d have floor to ceiling shelving and a selection of comfy chairs or bean bags in the middle. I’m quite a minimalistic person so all rooms wouldn’t be filled with lots of things, just enough to make it homely.

3 authors youโ€™d really like to meet and why?
Cecelia Ahern, Melissa Marr and Douglas Coupland, all because their books have had an impact on me in one way or another.

What are 5 items you never leave home without?
My mobile, purse, phone charger, car keys and house keys – all essential things!

A favorite childhood memory?
Oh, which to choose? I had a really good childhood as I lived with my Mum, Grandma and Grandad. I used to spend a lot of time with them and we’d go on adventures to the beach, Zoo and just on walks. I think I loved the simple things in life.

Wow, I loved the questions. It’s amazing what you’ll all find out about me. I’m going to nominate the following bloggers, authors and friends to have a go at answering my 11 questions.

I nominate:
Emily – Afternoon Bookery
Faith – Faith Sullivan Writes
Helena – The Magic Black Book
Sandra – Im Lesefieber!
Emma – Emma Lou Book Blog

My 11 questions are:

  1. What’s the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning?
  2. If you could choose only one book to read for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  3. Do you prefer Winter or Summer?
  4. Tea or Coffee?
  5. Who is your favourite author and why?
  6. What did you want to be when you were younger?
  7. If you had to choose between sight and hearing, what would you choose?
  8. What other hobbies do you have other than blogging/writing?
  9. Do you have a guilty pleasure?
  10. What’s the weirdest thing about you?
  11. If you had all the money in the world, what would you buy?
3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

