The Four Seasons – Jane Godman

Day 2 is here on the feature and I welcome the lovely Jane Godman to my blog. (What is the four seasons all about?)

Thank you, Clare for inviting me to take part in the Four Seasons Feature!

Rebecca Daphne du MaurierI think Spring books are those in which the characters blossom and grow and where hope blooms in the midst of emotional turmoil, like flowers on bare branches. So for my Spring reading matter I chose Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier because the young heroine (whose name we never get to know) is forced by circumstances to grow up fast and become the strong partner in her relationship.

I’d read it sitting on a garden bench, enjoying the song of the birds, the humming of the bees and the scent of fresh cut grass.

EchoesMy Summer reading matter would have to be Echoes by Maeve Binchy. There is no other book that can make me nostalgic for childhood summers the way this one can. Descriptions of family picnics on the beach and trips to the shop for ham to make sandwiches or ice cream wafers take me right back in time. Where would I be? Oh, on a hammock strung between two palm trees, with the scent of mimosa drifting in the air and the sound of gentle waves lapping the nearby tropical shore. I’d have a glass of something cold and fruit-filled nearby while I anticipated sardines grilling and salads tossing.

Heartsick Chelsea CainAutumn books need colour and drama. Just as the animals stock up on food and prepare to hibernate, we bookworms stockpile our reading material. But Halloween is close and I do love a scary story. I’d wrap up warm and go for a long walk through a rusty forest, kicking up leaves, before returning to an oak beamed cottage with a roaring fire and sipping hot chocolate. Then I’d dim the lights and re-read Heartsick by Chelsea Cain and let Gretchen Lowell send a shiver or two down my spine.

Bridget Jones DiaryWinter means blazing hearths, snow outside, and Jack Frost tracing icy patterns on the window panes. It’s a time for family and friends, and holiday cheer. Winter books should comfort you, like a familiar, favourite sweater. I’d choose Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding and wrap myself in its funny, friendly warmth. I’d read it tucked up under the duvet while the snowflakes tumbled down outside and the world turned into a winter wonderland.


About Jane

I am an avid reader, particularly of historical romances, and my favourite authors are Georgette Heyer, Jane Austen and Victoria Holt. I have always enjoyed writing (I still have a copy of the medieval novel I wrote, in felt tip pen, when I was 14!).

Gothic romance (love stories with a dash of horror) is my favourite genre. I love the lush atmospheric settings of the true gothic, the dark, unexplained secrets and feisty heroines.  The heightened sensuality the new gothics sends an extra shiver down the reader’s spine.

My first Harlequin Shivers novel, Legacy of Darkness, was published in January 2014. The sequel, Echoes in the Darkness, will be released in April 2014.

I also write historical romances, with heroes and heroines you fall instantly in love with, fascinating supporting characters and luscious settings.

I live in England and love to travel to European cities which are steeped in history and romance. Venice, Dubrovnik and Vienna are amongst my favourites. I am married to a lovely man, mum to two grown up children and slave to a spoilt-brat cat.

I love to hear from readers and can be contacted at: www.janegodmanauthor.com | www.facebook.com/pages/Jane-Godman-Author | @JaneGodman

Leave a Reply

