The Four Seasons – Helena

Today, I have the wonderful Helena from The Magic Black Book who is here to tell us all what books she would read during each season and why. There is also great pictures with amazing blue nail polish!

spring
Spring: Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

The description of the scenery on page 2 of this novel is just perfect: the idyllic meadow, the light breeze, the green of the forest, the sublime mountains. A beautiful love story that will break your heart makes for perfect spring reading.

summer-helena
Summer: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Summers in England aren’t quite the same as summers in New York: Plath perfectly captures the heat rising sultrily off the sidewalks, the immense, suffocating warmth coming out of the Subway exits, those sexy summer evenings of pretty dresses and cocktails. Esther’s decline into madness is gripping, and I could quite easily read The Bell Jar in one sitting on a summers day on the roof of my mother’s house.

autumn-helena
Autumn: Veronika Decides To Die by Paulo Coelho

I remember reading this one October afternoon: I was sitting on the broken bench and you were running laps of the park. I was supposed to be counting your laps and timing you, but I got so caught up in the mesmerising descriptions of astral projection that I totally failed you. The plot of this book is sheer and utter brilliance, and the twist at the end is unforgettable.

winter-helena
Winter: 1984 by George Orwell

Definitely one for getting into bed with a mug of tomato soup (it has to be Heinz), turning the lights down low and getting seriously creeped out by possibility of an actual Big Brother society.

all-seasons-helena
A book for all seasons: Steppenwolf by Hermann Hesse

This novel doesn’t fit into a season for me because I can read it at any time of year and still feel the full force of the existential crisis of Harry Haller. This book is bloody magical, literally. I read it about twice, maybe three times a year and it always effects me in different ways each time. I always spot something I missed before, or interpret something differently, making it feel like a brand new novel each time.

I really enjoyed doing this task (apologies for looking ugly with no make-up on) and it really made me think, having to choose an ultimate book for each season since I can recommend hundreds. On The Road by Kerouac is perfect summer reading… Oh no, here I go again!!

You can find out more about Helena on her AMAZING blog themagicblackbook.wordpress.com, you need to go visit NOW.

Leave a Reply

