Q + A with Rachel Brimble

Rachel BrimbleWhat better way to spend Monday than with a fantastic author interview with the lovely Rachel Brimble. Rachel is a great writer and with her novels you certainly won’t be disappointed.  Let’s get onto the questions to find out more!

Welcome Rachel to ‘A Book and Tea’. How are you today?
I was fine until I started to try on outfits for my upcoming 40th birthday celebrations and asked my two teenage daughters how I look…the answers were not good! sigh.

For those who aren’t familiar with your work, can you tell us all about your latest novels The Temptation of Laura and What Belongs to her?
Sure! The Temptation of Laura is my second Victorian romance with eKensington and loosely linked to the first (The Seduction of Emily) – Laura’s story is darker than the usual historical romance as I love to write about the lower classes of the time rather than the gentry. Laura is a prostitute striving for a better life in the theater…I’m a firm believer the poor deserve their happy ever after too.

What Belongs To Her is the third book in my Templeton Cove series with Harlequin Superromance. The books are set in the fictional UK seaside town of Templeton Cove and revolve around the lives and loves of my cast of characters that are each created with love and devotion. What Belongs To Her is Sasha and John’s story set against the background of the town’s fairground.

The Temptation of Laura is set in the Victorian Era, if you lived in this period, what do you think your life would be like? I always imagine myself as a pauper!
Ha ha! I really hope you try my Victorian romances in that case! I feel the same as you and imagine myself much more of the working class striving through trial after trial in a bid to survive, rather than the middle and upper class with servants and the like. I am fascinated with the Victorian era because of the huge industrial changes and the new opportunities arising for women. So many stories to be told!

Both novels have strong female leads, did you always know you wanted them to have Girl Power?
I think all my books have strong female leads organically and I don’t purposely set out with the mindset to write them that way, it just happens! There is a little of myself in all my characters, male, female, young or old and I often use them to vent or get a point across…so maybe I’m a little strong-minded too 😉

Do you have any upcoming projects you can tell us about?
I’ve just started writing my fifth Templeton Cove book for Harlequin Superromance (number four coming out in November). The hero and heroine of this book are secondary characters in What Belongs To Her but they really struck a chord with me and pretty quickly I knew they would have their own book. As well as this, I am polishing my third Victorian romance for eKensington which will be with my editor in the next couple of weeks.

When you’re not writing you like to walk the English countryside, do you have a favourite walk or maybe even a place?
I am lucky enough to live in one of the most beautiful counties in England. Wiltshire is very green and has lots of famous landmarks including Stonehenge, Avebury and Salisbury Cathedral. One of my favorite places to walk is Cherhill, home to one of Wiltshire famous white horses carved into the hillside.

Everyone who visits my blog gets asked this question, how do you take your tea? I’ll have a milk and two sugars, please 🙂
Mine is milk and one sugar, please!


About Rachel’s Novels

TemptationOfLauraThe Temptation of Laura

Laura Robinson has always been dazzled by the glamour of the stage. But perhaps acting and selling one’s favors are not so different—for Laura must feign pleasure with the men she beds to survive. Now, with her only friend at death’s door and a ruthless pimp at her heels, escaping her occupation seems impossible. Hoping to attract a gentleman, she attends the theater. Yet the man Laura captivates is no customer, but a rising star and playwright…

Adam Lacey has been driven to distraction since the moment he saw Laura. She is his ideal leading lady come to irresistible life—and so much more. Certain they can make the perfect team on and off stage, he is determined to win her heart—and discover her story. But that is precisely what Laura fears. And she has no idea that Adam harbors shameful secrets of his own. Will the truth free them to love—or destroy all their dreams…?

Purchase the book: UK | US

WhatBelongsToHerWhat Belongs To Her

She’s ready to take back what’s hers

Since the moment a local crime boss claimed ownership of her family’s fairground, Sasha Todd has dreamed of righting the wrong. Now it’s time to act, and backing down from the man’s estranged son is definitely not an option. After all, giving up her legacy to hot-blooded John Jordon means losing the chance to finally heal the wounds in her past.

Stopping John in his tracks—and resisting the sizzle between them—is Sasha’s best defense. But there’s more to him than she thought, which changes everything. With what matters most at stake, she’ll have to risk a brand-new future with John, or walk away from the man whose heart belongs to her.

Purchase the book: UK | US



About the Author
I live with my fantastic husband, our two young daughters and my beloved black Labrador, Max in a small market town near the famous Georgian City of Bath.  Having always ‘played’ with writing, I didn’t seriously sit down and write toward publication until I became pregnant with my second daughter – then I told myself to get my butt in the chair and get on with it before she grows up and I’m forced to get a real job!

Lots of short stories followed as did lots of rejections!  I took a few distance learning courses, joined some online writers groups and basically, learned my craft.  Finally deciding short stories weren’t working for me (they are an art form in themselves!), in 2006 I decided to embark on my first novel and voila Searching For Sophie was born!  Since then, my other books have followed each year.

And when I’m not writing? You’ll find me with my head in a book or walking the beautiful English countryside with my family.  And in the evening?  Well, a well-deserved glass of wine is never, ever refused.

Find out more about Rachel at her website www.rachelbrimble.com and also on Twitter @RachelBrimble

3 thoughts on “Q + A with Rachel Brimble

  1. Rachel Brimble says:

    Thanks for have been here today! Hi, Kim! Glad you enjoyed the interview 🙂

    I am home all day trying to write around the kids as they come and back and forth into the conservatory where I’m effectively ‘hiding’ – looking forward to chatting with your visitors!

    Rachel x

Leave a Reply

