The French for Always – Fiona Valpy

thefrenchforalwaysFormat: E-Book (Kindle)
Publisher: Bookouture
Published: 25th April 2014
Pages: 288 pages

The Blurb
Five Weddings. The perfect venue. One little hitch…

Leaving the grey skies of home behind to transform a crumbling French Château into a boutique wedding venue is a huge leap of faith for Sara. She and fiancé Gavin sink their life savings into the beautiful Château Bellevue – set under blue skies and surrounded by vineyards in the heart of Bordeaux.

After months of hard work, the dream starts to become a reality – until Gavin walks out halfway through their first season. Overnight, Sara is left very much alone with the prospect of losing everything.

With her own heart breaking, Sara has five weddings before the end of the season to
turn the business around and rescue her dreams. With the help of the locals and a little courage can she save Château Bellevue before the summer is over?

Rating: 3/5

The Review
I’d like to say a big thank you to Kim from Bookouture for sending me a copy to read and review.

Sara Cox is a wedding planner and what better way to organise a fairytale than in a beautiful Château in France. Sara has a team of helpers that create the best wedding you’ll ever get. It must be a hard time for many considering Sara has had some bad news, but she puts on a brave face and gets on with the job in hand.

Fiona does well with incorporating some French into the novel and the clever thing is the way it’s added into sentences means you understand what they are saying. I’m not to knowledgeable about the French language so I thought ‘Oh no, I hope I don’t get confused’ and thankfully I didn’t. Fiona also describes the scenery and setting of the Château perfectly. It makes me want to purchase a one way ticket to France and never come back. It sounds so peaceful and relaxing and a place I’d highly consider my wedding for. Don’t worry you don’t need to buy a hat, yet, I am not getting married.

Each wedding that you read about makes you feel like you are a guest because you find out all the details and met most members of the family. I’m always curious as to what other couples want at their weddings and whether or not they have any stories behind their decisions.

I really didn’t want to give ‘The French for Always’ a 3 star review, but unfortunately, I just didn’t like how predictable it was. If you don’t know already I hate how predictable novels can be and I shake my fist in anger if it happens. To me I knew from the beginning what was going to happen and I just felt that it ruined the story for me.

You can purchase ‘The French for Always’ on Amazon UK, Amazon US and Paperback.

Find out more about Fiona at her website www.fionavalpy.com and on Twitter at @fionavalpy.

Leave a Reply

