Jar Baby – Hayley Webster

20140506-085651 pm.jpg
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Dexter Haven Publishing
Published: 20th September 2012
Pages: 256 Pages

The Blurb
Diana Rickwood’s isolated childhood by the sea with her uncle, Rohan, a celebrated Fashion Designer, is dramatically shaken up by the arrival of Rohan’s ‘muse’ model Stella Avery.  Diana severs her links with her past and moves to London, trying her best to forget. But ten years on, Rohan’s sudden death forces her to look again at that past, to dig beneath the surface. What she finds is shocking; a web of secrets and half truths that hide a family shame – but also reveal a poignant hidden love story.

Rating: 5/5

The Review
Thank you to Hayley for sending me a copy to read and review.

Well, what can I say? Hayley Webster is a genius! Jar Baby is absolutely fantastic and I just hope my review does it enough justice.

Diana Rickwood has moved to London to try and live a normal life. She’s always been in the shadow of her fashion designer Uncle and eventually decided she needed to get away. On hearing of her uncle’s death she takes a tour around memory lane and unfortunately unearths a barrel of unwanted secrets. She sees people she doesn’t really like, drinks far too much alcohol and realises why certain things happened.

I’ve been reading many chick lit and romance novels lately so it was nice to read something different. I needed a book that wasn’t so ‘aww this is so cute’ but more gritty and full of dirt (not so much smut).

Diana has had a troubled life and unfortunately her adult life isn’t much better. She’s haunted by her past and struggles to comprehend why things are happening to her. I do feel really sorry for Diana because nothing she ever did warranted her having a troubled mind. You find yourself pleading with the story to let there be happiness and also, just a little bit of love. I think she did have love with Ronnie and probably always will, it’s just things with them didn’t work out.

I know it took me a few days to finish Jar Baby but I honestly felt like I could not put it down. My boyfriend Tom kept wondering why I wasn’t being social and often gave me looks of ‘we’re supposed to be having breakfast together, stop reading’. It’s the type of novel that you just want to read more and more.

You can purchase Jar Baby on Amazon UK | Amazon US and also on Paperback.

Find out more about Hayley on Twitter at @HayleyBooks.

Leave a Reply

