Q + A with Pat Elliott

20140513-023859 pm.jpg Hello Friday, it’s nice to see you. On the blog today, I am glad to welcome Pat Elliott author of ‘All in the Leaves’ for a question and answer session. I recently reviewed Pat’s novel which can be seen here.

Hi Pat! Thanks for joining me today. How are you?
Hi Clare. I am well and looking forward to answering your questions. Thank you so much for inviting me to your blog. I’m honoured.

‘All in the Leaves’ focuses on tea leaf reading, are you or someone you know able to read leaves?
Leaves does focus on tea leaf reading as a means to tell your fortune. One of my Irish relatives used to tell the leaves and one of my English relatives taught me to do it. The advantages of older relatives on both sides of the Irish sea!

Scotland is the main setting for your novel and having been myself it is beautiful. Do you like it?
Scotland is beautiful. If you love nature, you can’t help but be moved by the magnificence of the scenery. I have a few friends who live in various parts and the photos they send me are breathtaking. I must also say that the warmth of their welcome is quite wonderful too.

Did you base Anna on anybody you know or was she part of your imagination? (She’s incredibly close to how I think of myself).
Anna is based on someone I know. The girl who had the original tea leaf reading! Although I know her, Anna isn’t totally how she would behave in any given situation, but all the hopes, insecurities and the desire for love are present in the real life girl. Plus, she really wanted to study web design and did purchase a web design course via a coupon site! I think that there is something in Anna we can all relate to. She embodies the hope we all have for our dreams.

The next novel in The Leaves series is all about Chloe, can you tell us a little about what you have planned?
The next novel is entitled ‘Leaves for Chloe’ and although part of a series of three, can be read as a stand alone. The story starts as Chloe comes home alone after Anna’s wedding. She has just reconciled with the gorgeous Angus and is finally going to dump her married lover. Only, he has other ideas and won’t be consigned to history. Chloe has a tea leaf reading to determine her future. Sadly, it is not forecast to be quite as rosy as Anna’s. The story follows Chloe through the trials and tribulations predicted for her. It was such fun to write some of the horrible scenes! I can recommend it to everyone.

Other than writing what do you like to do in your spare time?
Other than writing, I love to paint in water colour, when I have some spare time. I have a gallery website, in which I post all my efforts. Dog portraits and landscape paintings have always been long standing favourites of mine. Recently, after guidance from the amazing artist, Stephie Butler, I have branched into painting human portraits too.The gallery site, if your lovely readers would like to see it, can be found via my website www.patelliott.co.uk

Finally as a last question, How do you take your tea? It’s a standard question from me!
Can you believe it, I don’t actually like tea! If pushed, I will drink a coffee, but my favourite drink is water. Which may seems at odds with tea leaf reading, but great aunt taught me that I didn’t have to drink it, just swirl some of the tea and a few leaves around in the cup. That was quite fortunate for me. You can’t exactly tell a fortune from a glass of water. Unless someone out there knows differently.


About the Author
Pat Elliott is the author of All in the Leaves. She spent eighteen years of her working life in a magazine company, before becoming self employed as a reflexologist.

She has had factual pieces published on reflexology and on adopting a dog. All in the Leaves is her first novel, with a second, ‘Leaves for Chloe’, currently being written. She has also written a volume of short stories, called ‘At Sanctuary’s Gate.’

She was born in the Alexandra Palace area of London and currently resides in the Essex countryside, with her husband and adopted terrier. She has a great love for dogs, always delighted when a rescue dog gets a second chance in life. She also loves to paint in watercolour.

Find out more about Pat on her website at www.patelliott.co.uk and on Twitter on @feetpaintwords.


allintheleavesAbout All in the Leaves
A tea-leaf reading.
A prediction of a fabulous life to come. Can your future really be told in a cup?

Anna is feeling down in the dumps. She’s nearly thirty, painfully shy and has no boyfriend. She’s still living at home and has a boring job. Can this really be all there is?

A chance bout of tears leads to a tea leaf reading which predicts a wonderful future for her.

A future which promises a new career, a new home and a husband. All by the following Christmas.

Join Anna as opportunities arise, calamity strikes and the battle for happiness begins.

You can purchase ‘All in the Leaves’ from Amazon UK and Amazon US.


20140515-070601 pm.jpgA GIVEAWAY
Thanks to Pat’s generosity she has kindly donated an e-book version of ‘All in the Leaves’ for one lucky winner!

What you need to do is to tweet a picture of yourself with a cup of tea and a happy face, however, if you’re a little self-conscious a picture of your favourite mug is great. Accompany your tweet with ‘It’s all in the leaves’ @abookandtea @feetpaintwords’ #allintheleaves #giveaway’ – that way we can find your tweet! You can see my example on the left.

The giveaway will end 1st June 2014!

Leave a Reply

