Tweethearts – Nicole Haddow

tweetheartsFormat: E-book (Kindle)
Publisher:
Penguin Books Australia
Published:
14th February 2014
Pages:
259 Pages

The Blurb
Jemima Starler loathes her job writing for the pregnancy magazine Placenta Monthly. To break the monotony, she writes scandalous tweets about the magazine industry as her secret online identity, Maghag. Thankfully, she also has her cute and talented housemate, Samson, to keep life interesting. When her editor stoops to a new ethical low, Jemima’s reputation is suddenly on the line. She must find a way to carve out a new career, but it’s hard to focus when Samson’s mixed signals are driving her crazy. And when her handsome housemate is plucked from obscurity to star on a new reality TV show, everything changes. It’s time for Jemima to trust her feelings instead of believing what she sees online, but has she missed her chance?

Rating: 4/5

The Review
Thank you to NetGallery for approving me to read Tweethearts.

When I was browsing NetGallery, Tweethearts popped up and I immediately thought ‘Wow, that cover is just so cute’ and I know you should never judge a book by its cover but that’s what made the decision for me to read the novel.

Jemima hates horrible people and her workplace ‘Placenta Monthly’ is full of them. After having an argument with her boss she decides to quit her job and get out of the place. For Jemima luck was just around the corner and she successfully lands a role on the hottest programme on Australian TV, ‘Dance Like No One’s Watching’. Not only that but she gets to work alongside her flatmate Samson, or so she thinks. You follow the show from behind the scenes and realise that working and being on TV isn’t as glamorous as you think.

I really liked Jemima’s character and I felt she was true to herself and never changed. She was just a normal girl trying to lead a normal life (well as normal as can be in TV). However, I don’t think I would have been so calm knowing I couldn’t talk to a friend or acknowledge that you knew them. But then again she did have secret contact so maybe it worked out well for her. I really wanted her to get with one particular character and for spoiler reasons I can’t tell you who but hey, it kept me gripped throughout.

I’m quite a fan of reality TV so reading about this made me all excited. Don’t get me wrong I know it’s fiction but still, you can be nosey. It’s always nice to know things aren’t perfect and everything is fabricated.

You can purchase Tweethearts from Penguin Books Australia.

Find out more about Nicole on her Twitter at @NicoleHaddow and also on her website at www.nicolehaddow.com.

4 thoughts on “Tweethearts – Nicole Haddow

Leave a Reply

