Q + A with Michelle Endersby + Review

roses‘May your dreams awaken and flourish like the opening petals of a rosebud’.

A Book and Tea is a book blog with reviews from all types of genre and I’m pleased to have written my first ever non-fiction review. Michelle kindly sent me a copy of her artwork which is displayed beautifully in this cute gift book.

Well, what can I say? I am absolutely blown away by the portraits because they are simply amazing! The attention to detail is second to none and each rose is individual and unique. I always thought the rose was a beautiful flower and to see pictures from an artist with the same opinion makes it just a little bit more special.roses-pink

The quotes from different poets, authors and thinkers are inspiring and I have found myself looking at each and contemplating life and thinking just how lucky I am to be healthy and happy. Unfortunately, Michelle herself underwent emergency brain surgery so I’m even more lucky sitting here thinking ‘You’re healthy’.

I know this isn’t a fiction book but you’re all a great open-minded bunch and if you get the chance I’d urge you to go and see how amazing Michelle’s paintings are.

roses-red

Now, follow the ‘Continue Reading’ tag for a GREAT question and answer with Michelle.


Q and A
Welcome Michelle to ‘A Book and Tea’, I’m incredibly excited to have you on my blog. You’re my first non-fiction review. How does that feel?
I’m really honoured to be the first non-fiction book on your blog and thinking about it, one of the reasons I wrote this book was to encourage people to take the time to smell the roses and your blog encourages people to have a cup of tea and escape with a good book,so I think we’re on the same page!

‘Awakening Around Roses’ is simply breathtaking and your portraits are fantastic. Your main subject is that of Roses, is it safe to say this is your favourite flower?
I don’t know if your readers know that I’m from Australia and I grew up surrounded by our interesting native plants, but my grandmother who was born on the Isle of Wight loved roses and they always seemed so exotic and wonderful to me when she showed me around her rose garden!  But it was once I started painting roses that I really fell in love with them.

How long does it take you to create a portrait? There is so much detail I can imagine it taking you a while!
Yes, Clare, they do take me a long time as there are lots of layers involved, starting with an under painting and then building up the colours.  And because I work on circular canvas sometimes I keep on going round and round finessing each petal.  So by the time I finish the painting I have become quite intimate with the subject and feel like I have got to know the personality of the rose.

On browsing your website I read that you underwent emergency brain surgery, did this change your vision on life? Also, I hope you’re back to full health now.
Yes, that was a dramatic turn of events 18 months ago.  A blood vessel ruptured in my brain and I was rushed to hospital paralysed down the left side,unable to speak and semi-conscious. I was operated on and was in a coma on life support for 5 days. When I awoke I was initially in a very dark place and then I had an inspirational vision finding myself in a beautiful light-filled rose garden.  I knew it was my duty to share this vision of beauty with the world and that is what I am doing through my paintings and my book.  I do see the world though different eyes and I feel like I have been given a second chance in life and I am pursuing my artist dream to the full.

Do you have any new and exciting projects you can tell us about?
So many exciting things are happening, firstly as we speak some of my paintings are being hand woven and tufted by artisans into beautiful round rugs, secondly a gallery in New york have asked me to submit my portfolio to them, and thirdly in late September I am hoping to go on a very special Arts & Garden tour to Venice, Lake Como, Verona and Milan for some further artistic inspiration.

Other than your fantastic art, what do you like to do in your spare time?
Well Clare, art does seem to colour my whole life these days.  When I’m not actually painting I’m out visiting art galleries, or walking around beautiful gardens photographing blooms for future paintings. My husband and I live near the beach so I do enjoy a stroll on the beach in the warmer months and I do love to escape to another time and place with a good novel.  

This is a very British question to ask, but how do you take your tea?As you know I’m a tea-addict and I have milk and two sugars. (Don’t tell the dentist).
I’m enjoying a very special brew at the moment, it is a White Peony Leaf tea with rose petals and I have it black with no sugar! 

And Clare, I have 3 copies of my book which I would love to give away to 3 of your lucky readers.  If they would like to visit my website www.michelleendersbyart.com and send me a message mentioning ‘A Book and Tea’ and share a special memory, quote or thought about roses by the 25th June then I will pick out the winners and send their book out in the post.

Thank you so much for having me as a guest on your blog, it’s been so lovely to meet you!


Awakening Around Roses
An inspiring gift book of 12 portraits of roses in full colour, combined with words of treasured artists, poets and great thinkers inviting you on a journey of contemplation and celebration of the world’s most well-known and captivating flower.

You can purchase ‘Awakening Around Roses’ from Michelle’s website here.


About Michelle
Find out more about Michelle at her website at www.michelleendersbyart.com and on Twitter @EndersbyArt.

Leave a Reply

