Not Quite Perfect – Annie Lyons

Not_Quite_PerfectFormat: Paperback
Publisher: Carina UK
Published: 18th July 2014
Pages:
384 Pages

The Blurb
Sometimes having it all isn’t enough…

Emma has everything she’s ever wanted. Her boyfriend’s just proposed and her career has finally taken off. And so what if her latest client just happens to be downright gorgeous? She’s getting married. Isn’t she?

Rachel’s married with 2.4 children (well, actually, 3) and life is all about trying to leave the house in a non-stained top. Once it was about skinny cappuccinos, cocktails and dynamic ad agency meetings. She wants her old life back, but can it ever be the same?

Rating: 4/5

The Review
Thank you to Sara and Carina UK for sending me a copy of Not Quite Perfect to read and review. Also, thank you for the tea to go with it, I thoroughly enjoyed drinking it whilst reading.

Now, I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but when I saw Not Quite Perfect, I was a little unsure as to whether or not I’d like it. I got the impression that it would be a little too lovey-dovey for me and I’d read a few pages and put it away, but do you know what? I really enjoyed it.

Emma and Rachel are sisters and although they have their own separate lives, they love being part of a caring and fun family. They say relationships are never easy and these two sisters know exactly what that’s like. They unfortunately encounter a few hiccups and find comfort in one another.

Even though the book is screaming ‘it’s going to be full of overly emotional context’ you need to ignore that and just read and enjoy it. Not Quite Perfect is a mixture of heart warming situations and light comedy. I found myself having a giggle and thinking ‘that’s so like my family’, on several occasions and that was nice and refreshing. Also, I will admit that I even cried in a few places because it pulled on my heart strings so much. No spoiler I promise, but I honestly couldn’t believe one event happened, I just didn’t see it coming. This made me bawl my eyes out because it was so sad.

I haven’t read any of Annie’s other books but after reading Not Quite Perfect, I most certainly will.

You can purchase Not Quite Perfect on Amazon UK, Amazon US and Paperback.

Find out more about Annie on Twitter at @1AnnieLyons.

Leave a Reply

