Season to Taste – Natalie Young

Season to TasteFormat: E-Book (Kindle)
Publisher:Β  Tinder Press
Published: 15th July 2014
Pages: 272 Pages

The Blurb
A startling debut about the extraordinary end of a marriage and its very strange aftermath.

Meet Lizzie Prain. She is an ordinary housewife and lives with her lovely dog and her husband, who is a bit of a difficult fellow, in a quiet cottage in British country side. She’s a wonderful cook. She enjoys her garden. And, occasionally, she makes cakes for the village parties.

No one has seen Lizzie’s husband, Jacob, for a few days. That’s because last Monday and Lizzie snapped and cracked him on the head with her garden shovel. No one quite misses Jacob though, and Lizzie surely didn’t kill him on purpose. And now that she has the chance to live beyond his shadow, she won’t neglect her good fortune. Over the course of the following month, with a body to get rid of and few fail-proof options at hand, Lizzie will channel her most practical instincts and do what she does best: she’ll cook Jacob, and she’ll eat him. But when Lizzie inadvertently befriends an isolated misfit, she will be tested: Will Lizzie turn to this new person for solace and abandon her desperate plan or will her new friend be an unwitting accessory to her crime?

Dark, unexpectedly funny, and achingly human, Season to Taste is a deliciously subversive treat. In Lizzie Prain, Natalie Young has created one of the most remarkable and surprising heroines in fiction.

Rating: 3/5

The Review
Thank you to Bookbridgr and Tinder Press for sending me a copy to read and review.

If you decide to read this novel, please do not, and I repeat, do not eat whilst reading, it will definitely make you feel a little poorly. I tend to read a lot of books during my lunch hour in work and as I was tucking into my salad or Sushi I’d read a bit and just have to stop. I knew what I was getting myself in to and I knew what the book was about, I just didn’t expect for it to be as graphic as it was. But then again, Lizzie has just killed her husband and decided to eat him, what else did I expect?

This review has taken me a lot longer than normal to write and I think it’s because I’m worried it’ll read like I’m completely bashing the book, which is not my intention. I have given Season to Taste a 3 out of 5 rating so I haven’t completely excluded it. I did feel that it was written well, which was reflected in how quickly I read the novel, it was just simply the subject matter that put me off. I’m not the best person when it comes to gore and medical things, so reading something with detailed descriptions of dismembering someone probably isn’t the best for me. I did actually have to put it down for a couple of minutes before starting a new chapter because I felt quite sick and unsteady – not the best emotions when you’re reading a book to relax.

I also felt that I couldn’t really understand why Lizzie was behaving the way she was. There was no remorse or even a snap of guilt from the murder considering it was a spur of the moment thing. However, maybe if there was more of an insight into Lizzie’s mind or behaviour, I’d find it easier to relate.

You can purchase Season to Taste on Amazon UK, Amazon US and Paperback.

Find out more about Natalie at her website at www.natalieyoung.co.uk and on Twitter at @natalieyyoung.

One thought on “Season to Taste – Natalie Young

  1. Gill says:

    I totally agree! Made me feel quesy but I thought it was just me. I liked it but I’m not quite sure why. Meeting the author tomorrow night at my local indie bookshop so I’m hoping I can think of nice things to say.

Leave a Reply

