Making Marion – Beth Moran

making-marionFormat: Paperback
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: 20th June 2014
Pages: 316 Pages

The Blurb
Marion Miller comes to Sherwood Forest to uncover her father’s mysterious past. She is looking for somewhere to stay, but instead finds herself on the wrong side of the reception desk at the Peace and Pigs campsite. Despite her horrible shyness, she promptly lands herself a job working for the big-hearted and irrepressible Scarlett.

It takes all of Marion’s determination to come out of her shell and get to grips with life on a busy campsite, where even the chickens seem determined to thwart her. Then an unfortunate incident with a runaway bike throws her into the arms of the beautiful, but deeply unimpressed, Reuben… Can Marion discover her father’s secret? And will she find peace, and perhaps even love, among the pigs?

Rating: 4/5

Thank you to Lion Hudson and Midas PR for sending me a copy to read and review.

When I first started reading Making Marion I wasn’t sure if it was going to be a novel I would enjoy, but the more I read, the more I felt inspired. Take the quote below as an example, there were many a page of wise words that would help anyone with low confidence to succeed in life.

image

(If you can see it) the quote is ‘Life is too short to let fear make your decisions for you’. I really need to take this on board because most of the time I let fear take over, silly thing I am!

Marion is on a quest to try and find out about her Father’s past and travels to Nottingham to find the answers. She ends up at the Peace and Pigs camping site where she makes friends with a variety of people and even has to get her hands dirty and help out.

Marion is also on a journey of self discovery, she is learning to live on her own and to try and overcome her Selective Mutism. As much as I know it was hard for Marion growing up and she had to deal with a lot of things, I did feel like she overcame her Mutism rather quickly. I know sometimes you’ve just got to jump into the deep end and deal with things, but for someone who suffered immensely she seemed to do a complete 360. Don’t get me wrong, I am proud and I’m like ‘Go Girl’ you did it, but maybe it could have progressed over a longer period of time – a little more realistic.

Other than the above, I think the novel was brilliant. I loved the selection of characters and how easily they slotted into certain elements of the story. You felt like you were part of the gang and it was nice to read about different locations (city of Nottingham, local markets, etc), rather than just situated in the campsite. I’d love to stay at a campsite like the Peace and Pigs, especially if you can get your hair cut and nails painted and look a million dollars. I love camping, just to let you know!

I seem to be reading a lot of books lately that make me cry. I don’t think I’m emotionally stable for this! hehe. Again like the previous three books I’ve read, Making Marion made me blubber on several occasions. I think they were more tears of joy rather than sadness, but there is a part in the story that will make you cry and wonder why life is cruel. It’s things like that, that make me enjoy a story more because you just don’t see it coming. I wrongly judged the book as a slow burner, but in fact it was brilliant throughout.

Making Marion is definitely a feel good read, it’s inspiring, funny and full of all things Robin Hood. I think as a salute you should don your green tights and sing Bryan Adams’, everything I do, I do it for youuuu!

You can purchase Making Marion on Amazon UK, Amazon US and Paperback.

Find out more about Beth at her website at www.bethmoran.org and on Twitter at @bethcmoran

One thought on “Making Marion – Beth Moran

Leave a Reply

