Paper Swans – Jessica Thompson

Paper SwansFormat: Paperback
Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton
Published: July 31st 2014
Pages: 441 Pages

The Blurb
Ben Lawrence seems to have it all – the hot job, the flashy car, the luxurious apartment. But there is tragedy hidden in his past.

The events of that day have stopped him truly getting close to anyone. He made a promise that love was the price he would pay for his mistakes.

When Effy Jones – a bright, ambitious charity founder – walks into Tower 100 one autumn day, little do they know that their lives are about to be turned upside down.

Paper Swans tells of how true love conquers all, and when everything is broken one person can help mend the pieces.

Rating: 4/5

The Review
Thank you to Hodder and Stoughton and Bookbridgr for sending me a copy to read and review.

I hate to say this, but I was expecting a little more from Paper Swans; it just did not live up to my expectations – don’t get me wrong it wasn’t terrible, but I just wanted something more.

Ben is a high-flyer and has more money than sense, Effy is hard-working and in the process of starting up her own charity; they’re from two different worlds, but one day they unexpectedly collide.

Ben’s character was one of the reasons why I actually continued to read and also because I wanted to find out what happened during his past. I had so much empathy for him and on several occasions I just wanted to give him a great big hug (regardless if he was a stereotypical male). It made me realize that money can’t buy you happiness, it can only fuel it for a few days; if you’ve got problems hidden within yourself they’re not just going to go away. Lisa and I were talking about how Jessica writes about issues that many authors stay clear from. Mental Health issues seem a common factor within Paper Swans and it’s nice to see it being discussed and not thrown around with a stigma. For someone that has first hand experience of Depression it was a relief to see it being dealt with, with realism.

A big negative for me was Effy’s character and her personality traits. For someone who cared so much about other people, she did tend to do a little bit of ‘woe is me’. I can imagine it being very difficult to set up a business on your own (or with little help) and worries are justified, but it was other situations that made me wonder if she was being a little selfish. The way she dealt with her ex-boyfriend was a prime example.

I will admit that I did even try to create a paper swan after reading that Effy created them. However, they turned out to be random balls of mess, so I gave that up quickly. It randomly does make you want to find out how to make a paper swan, so I’d say try and see how you do. If it’s good, show me!

You can purchase Paper Swans on Amazon UK, Amazon US and Paperback.

Find out more about Jessica at her website at www.jessicathompsonbooks.com and on Twitter at @Jthompsonauthor.

2 thoughts on “Paper Swans – Jessica Thompson

  1. ljbentley27 says:

    You are right matey, I liked the handling of mental health issues and I really like how Jessica Thompson doesn’t just go for the easy topic. Kudos to her. I did like Paper Swans but can understand how Effy does come across high and mighty at times. Her tunnel vision does seem to put a blocker on her happiness. I did feel for Ben though ๐Ÿ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

