Dispatches from the Dating Zone – K.T. Valentine

DFTDZFormat: E-Book (Kindle)
Publisher: Self-Published
Published: July 23rd 2014
Pages: 303 Pages

The Blurb
Having exhausted all the conventional ways to meet her ‘Mr Right’ (and because now she really is a little bit desperate), Fleur Summers turns to her well-meaning, but eccentric friends and family for help. From ‘Man Mountain’; an engineer who eats everything in sight and tall dark handsome Tom with big hands but no idea how to use them, to the mysterious and brooding Henry Austin. Follow the trials and tribulations of Fleur’s journey as she works her way through a number of eventful blind dates, all in the name of finding true love.

Rating: 3/5

The Review
Thank you to K.T. Valentine for sending me a copy to read and review.

We’ve all been there before, single, eating lots of comfort food and being jealous of all loved-up couples – I’m sure many of us have even bought the t-shirt of singledom. Just like many of us, Fleur Summers is trying to find the man of her dreams and enlists her family and friends to set her up with a few dates with some sexy bachelors’. Unfortunately, she doesn’t always get the nice man she’s after and regrets asking in the first place.

As I said before, we’ve all been single before and I’m sure many of us have even wallowed in pity, which for Dispatches from the Dating Zone makes it easy to relate. Before I met my boyfriend, I went on endless dates with people and most of the time I found it difficult to find them attractive or find them interesting and it’s the same for Fleur. She seems to be paired up with the rejects of the village and finds it difficult to feel good about herself. I did feel sorry for her because being forced on dates with people you don’t really know is not the nicest and sometimes you just want to get on with things and not be forced into anything. I have to say though, I did find Fleur to be a little too judgmental. I know she didn’t like the men she was set up with and we’ve all experienced that, but her reaction to Tom being rubbish in bed made me think less of her. Fair enough he wasn’t the best but to stop a relationship with someone because of it? Hmm, not something I agree with.

I liked how the novel was told in the form of a diary; it makes you feel like you’re part of the story and it’s quite personal. I always find it more interesting when I novel is written this way and it works well for Dispatches from the Dating Zone.

Dispatches from the Dating Zone was just not for me. I really didn’t like some of the scenarios that occurred in the novel because they verged on being rather crude. I’m no prude (I’m far from it) but was it really necessary to describe a sexual health test or discuss your son’s foreskin? No, it wasn’t.

You can purchase Dispatches from the Dating Zone on Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Find out more about K.T Valentine at her website at www.ktvalentine.com and on Twitter @TheKT_Valentine.

Leave a Reply

