Ticker – Lisa Mantchev

TickerFormat: E-book (Kindle)
Publisher: Skyscape
Published: 1st December 2014
Pages: 273 Pages

The Blurb
When Penny Farthing nearly dies, brilliant surgeon Calvin Warwick manages to implant a brass “Ticker” in her chest, transforming her into the first of the Augmented. But soon it’s discovered that Warwick killed dozens of people as he strove to perfect another improved Ticker for Penny, and he’s put on trial for mass murder.

On the last day of Warwick’s trial, the Farthings’ factory is bombed, Penny’s parents disappear, and Penny and her brother, Nic, receive a ransom note demanding all of their Augmentation research if they want to see their parents again. Is someone trying to destroy the Farthings…or is the motive more sinister?

Desperate to reunite their family and rescue their research, Penny and her brother recruit fiery baker Violet Nesselrode, gentleman-about-town Sebastian Stirling, and Marcus Kingsley, a young army general who has his own reasons for wanting to lift the veil between this world and the next. Wagers are placed, friends are lost, romance stages an ambush, and time is running out for the girl with the clockwork heart.

Rating: 4/5

The Review
Firstly, I’d like to thank NetGallery for accepting my request and secondly to Lisa for recommending the novel to me.

The Victorian Era is one of my favourites so I was keen to read Ticker as soon as Lisa told me all about it. I’m not entirely sure where the fascination came from, but I’d say it was close to being an obsession that’s a bit mad, isn’t it? Before writing this review I read what others thought about the novel on Goodreads and Twitter and apparently Ticker is classed as ‘steampunk’. I had no idea what this was so I did a little Google-ling (not sure how I’m supposed to spell that) and it turns out it’s ‘a subgenre of science fiction and fantasy literature and art that commonly features some aspect of steam-powered machinery’ well I never.

Penny has a mechanical heart and although it keeps her alive, many people think it’s a terrible thing and because of this lots of unexpected events keep happening that cause Penny (and her allies) trouble. To me Penny was strong, passionate and ballsy; she rarely listened to what people told her to do and she wasn’t afraid to do anything. I know I say this a lot, but I like when a female is strong because the female race are not always represented in the most favorable light.

The plot in Ticker was fast paced and kept you on your toes with the plot focusing on a mysterious villain that has kidnapped Penny’s parents. However, I did feel like the pace drop in certain areas and I felt a little bored.

Is it wrong that I’ve just noticed Penny’s name is Penny Farthing? Doh, a penny-farthing is an old fashioned bicycle particularly a symbol of the late Victorian era – I am stupid sometimes.

You can purchase Ticker on Amazon UK, Amazon US and Paperback.

Find out more about Lisa at her website at www.lisamantchev.com and on Twitter at @lisamantchev.

One thought on “Ticker – Lisa Mantchev

Leave a Reply

