Antisense – R.P Marshall

Antisense CoverFormat: Paperback
Publisher: Amazon
Published: November 1st 2013
Pages: 264 Pages

The Blurb
What if you could evolve in a moment?

What if you had the power to change the genetic future of your loved ones and the people they become – simply by the way you live your life?

When neuroscientist Daniel Hayden’s father dies, such thoughts begin to erode his very sanity, with the growing fear that he might share a dark secret buried deep in his family’s past – a past he is about to relive. The idea only seems to gain credibility from the bizarre results coming from his own laboratory, forcing Daniel to resurrect the discredited theories of an eighteenth century naturalist in the process. Was Daniel’s fate sealed all those years ago? Has he been betrayed by his own DNA?

Rating: 4/5

The Review
Thanks to Publishing Push for sending me a copy to read and review.

Antisense was (to me) a book that I felt a little apprehensive about reading. I know I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but it looked like it lacked a little happiness. However, once I’d sunk my teeth into the novel, I thought ‘never judge a book by it’s cover’ because Antisense surprised me. Yes, it was a little bleak, but the narrative and characters helped it have structure and made you want more.

Daniel is a scientist and his life is usually quite boring up until Erin, a natural beauty, ends up working in his department. She adds a flare of excitement to his life and his focus is no longer on his struggling relationship with his wife Jane. The novel follows Daniel’s travels where he unearths a variety of stories relating to his Father’s death. It’s no secret that Daniel is a loner and on occasion quite awkward, yet if he was anything else you’d not like him. Sometimes it’s refreshing to read about ‘normal’ people for once and not those that are naturally perfect in every way. I felt that Daniel opened his eyes and was no longer stuck inside the laboratory bubble, he found out a lot about his family – it’s one thing enjoying your job, but to make it revolve around you life is another.

I gave Antisense four out of five stars because I really enjoyed it. However, I did struggle a little to understand the scientific references plastered throughout. It clearly needed such descriptions because science was a big part of Daniel’s life, I just found it hard to digest. It may suggest that I’m stupid, but I can’t be the only one to think this, can I? I didn’t feel it was necessary to describe some elements as they just confused the story a little.

You can purchase Antisense on Amazon UK, Amazon US and Paperback.

Find out more about R.P Marshall at his website at www.rpmarshall.com and on Twitter at @rpmarshallarts.


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

