To blog or not to blog?

This blog post has been extremely hard for me to write; not because I want to keep secrets but more because I’m ashamed that I wanted to quit blogging.

I’ve been secretly going through a little struggle as of late. For the past couple of months I have lost motivation for blogging and I’m not entirely sure why this has started. One minute I feel like I’m not enjoying reading and then others, I’m in heaven.

I have always said that if I ever felt bored or that I wasn’t enjoying reading that I would stop, but the problem is I don’t know if I ever want to stop doing something I love. I’ll admit that I do find it hard to blog sometimes because after work I just want to relax and sit down with my book – the thought of putting my laptop on (after a day on a computer) brings me to dread. Have any of you felt like that?

However, after a very long talk with myself (I’m not mad, promise) I’ve decided that I am going to continue running this book blog, I think I’d cry and have a mini-meltdown if I ever stopped. I understand now that taking a break is fine and no-one well make you feel bad for it. Sometimes taking a break in life is a good thing because you don’t want to burn yourself out.

Have any of you had thought about quitting your blog?


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

17 thoughts on “To blog or not to blog?

  1. Angelspearl says:

    Hey don’t feel bad. I completely understand how you feel. I have days i just dont feel like i can review anything or even sut in front of a computer. Do what I did, take a few days off. Maybe a week and then try again. I haven’t been blogging long but i sometimes wonder what iv gotten myself into but to be honest I cant think of any other way to spend so.e of my free time that talking not stop about a book i loved reading
    Hope you dont quite just keep going.

  2. Charl says:

    I’VE BEEN WRITING A NEW BLOG POST FOR *WEEKS* SAYING EXACTLY THIS. I haven’t blogged since the 23rd March (largely because of illness but then my motivation has completely disappeared too). I’ve barely been reading either because I’m at a really weird point in my life with other stuff going on.

    Don’t feel bad. Blogging shouldn’t feel like a chore or something that you feel like you have to do. Take a break, as long as you need, and genuinely don’t stress over it. It will be here when (if) you decide to return πŸ™‚

  3. Rebecca Bradley says:

    I don’t know about quitting blogging, but I definitely have my quieter moments when I can’t think of much to say or life seems to be taking over. The same goes for reading. I’m in a bit of a reading lull at the minute, I just can’t seem to pick up the pace. I know it will come back so I kee plodding on. I love reading, I love writing and I love blogging and the community of bloggers. Don’t feel bad if you need a break. The blog will always be here, no matter how long that break.

  4. jennyinneverland says:

    Aww Clare, I’m sorry you feel like this 😦 I hope everything is okay and I am SO SORRY I’VE BEEN A RUBBISH PENPAL! As you know, I went on a blogging break last year because of the same reasons as you; I didn’t feel like I was enjoying it, I didn’t want to force it and I just wanted to read for fun and not worry about reviews and blogs and everything. The break worked WONDERS and since then, I’ve continued making changed to my blog and the way I look at blogging. I ONLY review review copies now (and occasional others that I may want to share my thoughts on) and everything else I read for pure pleasure and it helped massively. Maybe filter out the posts you don’t like writing very much anymore and concentrate on the ones you do? There’s plenty you can do to make blogging work you for so don’t stress over it; your blog will always be here when you want/need it! πŸ™‚ It would have been such a shame to see you go, so I’m glad you’ve decided to stay! ❀ xxx

    • abookandtea says:

      You’re not a rubbish Penpal hehe. You’ve been away having lots of fun! I think I’m going to read the books I fancy more often and make sure I put the fun back into it! Xx

    • abookandtea says:

      You’re not a rubbish Penpal hehe. You’ve been away having lots of fun! I think I’m going to read the books I fancy more often and make sure I put the fun back into it! Definitely here to stay. Xx

  5. scribblingtruth says:

    I hear you! I sit in front of a computer all day as well, and you tend to feel like when you come home you just want to switch off from the world. I’m all up there for reading a good book as well so we’re definitely on the same page (no pun intended)! You’re clearly not on your own from all these comments. But I for one would be sad if we lost you from the blogging community πŸ™‚

    • abookandtea says:

      Glad you understand me being in front of a computer all day thing. I did choose to do Web design, etc hehe.

      Aww that’s a lovely comment to end on. Good job I’m not leaving πŸ™‚

  6. Fantasy Angel says:

    Awww I’ve felt the same way many times in my (three?) years blogging…just take a bit of a break, try to regroup and maybe hit up some other blogs to get some ideas for posts…it’s worked for me so far so I’m hoping it does for you…With the reading, I’ve felt the same: if there are releases that are just not your thing, you feel left out and start going into a reading slump or your TBR list is too long…I understand both ways. To get back into the swing of things, just take a step back and regroup again and wait a bit…again look on Goodreads or Barnes & Noble and just look up books if you have time…you may find something new to read…Those are just tips, I’m hoping (if you try them) that they’ll work….Just remember, it’ll all be fine πŸ™‚ and I can’t wait till you come back (if you do) πŸ™‚

  7. Stephanie Jane says:

    I get times like that too and I think it’s a question of finding the right balance for yourself. At the moment we’re in a fantastic location so my posts are all about travel and I’m hardly reading at all. Other times, I’ll be lost in books for days on end or even (shock, horror!) not feel like turning my tablet on at all.
    I guess if you don’t feel like blogging for a while, let it take a back seat until your mojo returns. As you say, it’s something you love so don’t be drastic and delete everything! Take time out to recharge πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

