The ‘read more’ tag…

…pointless or necessary?

I’m always curious to find out what my readers like about my blog and also, what they don’t like, which leads me onto the following topic.

I use the ‘read more’ tag on a majority of my posts because I feel like displaying too much text is off-putting and that’s not the reaction I want. However, I wonder if the ‘read more’ tag puts people off. If they notice there is a read more element to a post, does that make them think ‘this post is going to be too long, I don’t want to read it’.

When viewing other blogs, the read more tag does not phase me – I’ll happily click through and read what they have to say. I guess it could be up to the reader and their habits, but I’m just debating whether or not I should remove the tag from my posts.

What do you think of the ‘read more’ tag – is it pointless or necessary? I’d love to hear your thoughts.


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

10 thoughts on “The ‘read more’ tag…

  1. Angelspearl says:

    Personally i wonder the same as i sometimes forget to use it for my blog posts. Some bloggers dont bother with it but i think it is nife to have
    That way reader who are actually interested un the post will click through rather than readers who are just scanning the page.

  2. Janet MacLeod Trotter says:

    I hadn’t thought about it before but I think you are right in thinking that to have a ‘read more’ button gives the impression that the post will be quite long and so people might hesitate if they are short of time and looking through lots of emails – they might think, I’ll save that for later, but then not get round to it. I think I prefer to have the whole post there and then, to make it easy to see all in one go – maybe try a couple and see – your posts are never too long and always worth reading!

  3. Althea says:

    I think it’s totally your choice! Your blog, your rules. It’s nice you give readers the option to continue reading or not. You do you ๐Ÿ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

