The Ultimate Book Tag

I found this ultimate book tag on the fabulous books with bite blog and I knew I had to give it a go.

I love a good question and answer, so here goes!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
It all depends on the journey, to be honest. If it’s on the motorway I’m not too bad, but if it’s country roads I get a little sick.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?
I really don’t know – that’s bad, isn’t it?

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
Harry Potter for sure. Points to defend my choice:

1. Twilight is crap – I’m all for fantasy, but not how it’s written in Twilight. Vampires DON’T sparkle!

2. Harry goes to a magical school and (minus the Voldermort sadness) gets to do awesome spells!

3. The Harry Potter books can be enjoyed by anyone and I love that. However, Twilight can only be enjoyed by a few people.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?
I don’t carry a book bag, but I do have a very large handbag. Anything I carry will always contain a book.

5. Do you smell your books?
All the time! I think it would be weird if you didn’t.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?
Definitely a mixture of the two! Sometimes you just want to read a book full of text, and others you fancy it broken up with a selection of little illustrations.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)
The House of Night Series is probably a good example of this. I loved the series whilst I was reading, but as the series ‘developed’ I found the writing utterly terrible. I get that they were intended for the YA audience and I appreciate that. However, I felt that the authors writing was immature.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
There aren’t many funny stories I’m afraid, but I always remember reading as a child and just how much fun it was. My Nan and I would always visit the library and I was encouraged to start reading from an early age.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?
The Great Fire of London by Samuel Pepys – 51 pages

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber – 833 pages

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
It’s every book bloggers dream, but my imagination probably couldn’t think of a unique story.

12. When did you get into reading?
I started reading at a young age and I have loved it ever since. As mentioned previously, my Nan and I would visit the library most days after school and I’d always choose something new to read. My taste changed as I got older, but I do frequently read books from my childhood to feel nostalgia!

13. What is your favorite classic book?
My favourite classic is To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. If I’m honest I haven’t read many classics.

14. In school was your best subject?
Erm, I can’t say I was particularly good at one, more consistent with them all. I loved Drama classes.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?
I’d accept the kind gift and keep it. If anyone else expressed that they wanted to read it, I’d give them my copy.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?
Now that’s a good question! I’ve read Dark Days by Kate Ormand and The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R.Carey and they are similar to the above. Both have Dystopian elements and involve younger characters.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?
I’m sure lots of people can say I have many bad habits, but I really can’t think of any. I probably ask why quite a lot or maybe nag a little hehe.

18. What is your favorite word?
I have never even thought about this before – I really don’t know.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?
I’d probably be a mixture of all three! I’m not ashamed to be either – being a geek or nerd is never a bad thing.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?
Fairies! I have never read a novel about vampires that I have enjoyed where as I’ve read the Wicked Lovely Series by Melissa Marr and loved it. It’s all about fairy groups and the balance between good and evil – go read it.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
I don’t know what a shapeshifter is i’ll choose Angels.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
Spirits because I don’t like werewolves they just howl and are violent!

23. Zombies or Vampires?
Zombies, again because I don’t like vampires.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
Forbidden Love because I like novels where you can’t have what you want.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?
Action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in. I’m not a full on romance kind-of-girl.


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

