Remix by Non Pratt

image

That look is my definition of love…

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Walker Books
Published: 2015
Pages: 300 Pages

The Blurb
Kaz is still reeling from being dumped by the love of her life. Ruby is bored of hearing about it – time to change the record.

3 days, 2 best friends; 1 music festival – zero chance of everything working out.

Rating: 3/5


The Review
Having previously read Trouble by Non Pratt, I was incredibly excited to have a copy of Remix in my hands. The way Non Pratt deals with teenage issues and how it feels to grow up is perfect and I hoped Remix reflected that.

Remix is dual narrated by best friends Kaz and Ruby whilst they let their hair down at Remix, an epic music festival full of good music and best friends. However, the more they get into the groove, the more they deal with a variety of emotional situations – why is growing up so difficult?

Kaz and Ruby’s friendship was something I envied because although they were like chalk and cheese, they got on very well. Plus, Non’s written words were so true because no friendship is perfect and you do fall out occasionally and make mistakes, but that’s what friendships are all about. I liked how it was realistic and not all fluffy and girly.

Sadly, Remix did let me down and I didn’t like how it was all sex, sex and more sex. I’m no prude by any means and I’m quite happy for you to have sex with whoever you want, when you want, but it doesn’t make a story. Also, at the age of 16 it’s probably not the most appropriate to go having sex with everyone and then regret it. But anyway, I’m not here to preach.

I’m usually a massive fan of UK YA because you don’t feel too old reading a book aimed at teenagers, but with Remix I felt OLD – I’m only 27! It didn’t strike a good enough balance for me, some chapters were laced with immaturity and then others were mature and logical, I’d have preferred the latter.


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

