Guest Post: What inspired you to write The Christmas Café?

Today, I’m joined by the lovely Amanda Prowse, author of The Christmas Café for my spot on the blog tour.

I’m a BIG fan of Amanda’s, so when I was asked to be a part of the blog tour I squealed in delight – thanks again for letting me be involved. 🙂

The Christmas Café is a heart warming story which deals with grief, self discovery and finding love in later life.

The novel tells the story of Bea Greenstock, whose life seems to lose direction when, after 30 years of marriage, her husband passes away.

Just a little blurb to tempt you; now i’ll pass you over to Amanda.

What inspired you to write The Christmas Café?

Hello ‘A Book and Tea’ and all your lovely readers! 

Thank you so much for inviting me into your lovely world. My latest book ‘The Christmas Café’ was inspired by my love of two places, Edinburgh and Sydney! Not maybe the most obvious paring, but for me, two places in which I have had very similar experiences.

I first visited Edinburgh a number of years ago and quite simply fell in love, not with a tall dark, handsome Scottish stranger, but with the place itself. I wandered the streets on a crisp, cold morning with the winter sun sending a pink tinge over all it touched and I was captivated, every turn revealed a sight more beautiful than the last. This also happened to me in Sydney. Arriving bleary eyed and bewildered, I jumped off a train and found myself in a café in Surry Hills being welcomed with a hot cup of coffee and a good old chat about the day ahead.

I am very lucky to have travelled a lot and yet there have only been a couple of times in my life when I have arrived at a place and felt ‘home.’ I then began to wonder what it would be like to feel pulled between two cities, one that held your head, and the other your heart… and so the idea for Christmas Café was born!

Bea’s story explores the idea that just when you think life might be slowing, when all thoughts of romance have fled, fate might have other ideas! Bea is fifty-three, a widow and when her old and new lives collide, she is forced to go on a journey of self-discovery that leads her to places she could never have imagined…

The blog tour continues until 22nd October which is the release date of The Christmas Café! Pre-order your copy here.

image


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: What inspired you to write The Christmas Café?

Leave a Reply

