Book Review requests – do’s and don’ts

I’m a book blogger that will happily accept (most) review requests. However, there are times when I decline.

If you’re asking a book blogger for their time to read and review your book,  bare in mind how you ask!

Here’s some do’s and don’ts to requesting – I’m not suggesting you should do these for all bloggers, but they are a few pointers for when you’re going to email me. 🙂

DO’s

Make it personal

The amount of times I’ve received an email request that starts with just a ‘Hi’ or ‘Hi a Book and Tea’ as a greeting. Oh, I’m sorry, I didn’t realise my Mum named me that at birth, last time I checked my birth name was Clare (NOT WITH AN I – that’s another pet peeve).

Take the time to find the bloggers name and start your request with this, it means you’ve actually spent time visiting their page and made a note of their name.

Details are everything

Add a blurb of the novel, provide author links, etc. Book bloggers will receive lots of requests so the easier for us to find out more about your book the better. I know they say ‘Never judge a book by it’s cover’, but we do have to judge a book by its blurb, so make sure you add the info’.

Don’ts

Rush or pester

Please don’t rush or pester a blogger to read your book quickly or email asking why they haven’t read your book, etc.

In all fairness, I haven’t received many of these emails, but when I did I felt a little upset. I know you’ve kindly donated your book to me, but I can only read as fast as my life and body allows. Most of us do have offline activities, so they will have to come first! I always let authors/publishers know if I cannot commit to a review on time, and that is very rarely – I always review on time.

Don’t get offended

Not all of the blogging world will like your book and that’s okay. Please don’t get offended if someone writes a negative review. I agree that it should be constructive, not personal, but learn from it and move on to better things.


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

10 thoughts on “Book Review requests – do’s and don’ts

  1. Angelspearl says:

    Nice post. I will admit that the ones I tend to consider are the requests that seem like they actually took time to look around my blog. But this is one post authors and publisher need to read.

  2. em✨ (@Afternoonbooker) says:

    fab post!

    I agree – whilst im always grateful ive had a few lately that consist of – hi will you read my book.
    Nothing, no acknowledgement, and further more – no info on the book, and i often think the genres i read are pretty clear so 🙂

    xxx

  3. Belinda Stewart says:

    Great post! you have such a positive heart. “Please don’t get offended if someone writes a negative review.” I love this line you have there.

Leave a Reply

