A blogger adventure: Liverpool Central Library

A couple of weeks ago, I visited the Central Library in Liverpool and I have to say it is simply beautiful. It recently underwent a £50 million renovation project and the money spent has definitely made the place so magical.

My mouth first dropped when we landed outside, you are greeted by a variety of famous pieces of literature displayed on the footpath to the entrance. My friend and I spent a while looking what was on there, lots of classics!

The last time I visited the library was in about 2010 when I was in University. I used to spend most of my free time sitting in the Central Library reading books and completing my coursework; it was a nice and relaxed atmosphere. When I stepped inside the change was drastic and completely different to what I know, it looked amazing.

image

image

The floors display a variety of Liverpool related things, a nice touch.

The Hornby Library and Oak Room are sections of the library that, although restored, are all the original features. They house over 15,000 rare books which include vintage copies of natural history and medieval manuscripts.

image

It doesn’t just stop there, if you venture towards the top, there is a rooftop area which has benches and a great view.

image

How cool is the glass roof?

If you’re ever in the city of Liverpool I urge you to visit the Central Library!

For more information on the library, visit their website here


Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “A blogger adventure: Liverpool Central Library

Leave a Reply

