Book Review: The Night That Changed Everything by Laura Tait and Jimmy Rice

image

Format: Paperback
Published: 24th March 2016
Publisher: Corgi
Pages: 416 Pages

The Blurb
Rebecca is the only girl she knows who didn’t cry at the end of Titanic. Ben is the only man he knows who did. Rebecca’s untidy but Ben doesn’t mind picking up her pieces. Ben is laid back by Rebecca keeps him on his toes. They’re a perfect match.

Nothing can come between them. Or so they think.

When a throwaway comment reveals a secret from the past, their love story is rewritten.

Can they recover from the night that changed everything? And how do you forgive when you can’t forget?


The Review
Thank you to Corgi for the copy to read and review.

The Night That Changed Everything is dual-narrated by the characters Rebecca and Ben, they unexpectedly fall in love one night, but after a quick romance their relationship ends badly. I do believe they loved each other, but with Ben admiting to something he really shouldn’t, I don’t know how it was going to progress!

As much as I loved the novel, it did take me a while to get into the flow – not because it was bad, but more because it took a while for something to happen. The first few chapters detailed the sadness of their break-up, which after a while became a little tiresome. I know it’s not nice and it can take a long time to feel better again, but it’s just that I felt that Rebecca took it the wrong way and they weren’t even together when it happened.

Anyway, after that things definitely improved and I loved every minute. Time ran away from me when I was reading and that is always a good sign of a good book. I often found myself laughing out loud (Rebecca’s Scottish friend was hilarious and kept Rebecca remotely sane) and also, I did cry hysterically on a few occasions (noooo, that wasn’t supposed to happen!). The balance between happiness and sadness was perfect and without spoiling too much for you it’s evident that this book is focused on friendships and how we need them to survive. I’m so grateful that I have a group of friends that I can trust and have fun with and that’s exactly what both Ben and Rebecca had – they share the same set of friends (minus a few) and they really worked well as a group.

You wouldn’t know that the novel was written by both Jimmy and Laura, I couldn’t find where Laura finished and Jimmy began, and vice versa. A clever thing to do because naturally I think you’d notice the difference in writing styles if it wasn’t edited well. Also, it’s nice to get a different perspective on things – stereotypically men rarely focus on the chic – lit side of things, so it was good to read a male writing this kinda thing!

All in all, The Night That Changed Everything was a humorous read that enlightens you into what it’s like to be a young professional living in London! I would definitely recommend you giving it a go as it’s fun, light-hearted and one you’ll read ever so quickly, but love every minute!

Now, pass me the next Laura and Jimmy novel!


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Night That Changed Everything by Laura Tait and Jimmy Rice

Leave a Reply

