Book Review: 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

image

Format: Hardback
Published: 18th February 2016
Publisher: Gollancz
Pages: 416 Pages

The Blurb
I was dead for 13 minutes.

I don’t remember how I ended up in the icy water but I do know this – it wasn’t an accident and I wasn’t suicidal.

They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you’re a teenage girl, it’s hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I’m sure of it. But that doesn’t mean they didn’t try to kill me. Does it?

Purchase: Amazon UK | Book Depoistry


The Review
I bought myself a copy of 13 Minutes after seeing lots of brilliant reviews, plus the blurb really excited me, dying for 13 minutes, wow!

Tasha dies for 13 minutes, but thanks to a quick acting passerby, she survives. The events leading up to her “death” are on everyone’s lips – who pushed Tasha in the river and why would someone want to hurt the most popular girl in school? I think the main question should be, who wouldn’t want to hurt the must popular girl in school? Everyone is jealous of her!

Becca becomes part of Tasha’s story when they rekindle their friendship. Becca feels sorry for Tasha as she believes that her so called friends pushed her into the water and attempted to kill her. Becca was never popular, so being friends with someone that is actually gives some happiness to Becca. However, is it all as rosey as it seems?

The atmosphere and actions of the girls and their time in education reminded me of being in school and wanting to be friends with the most popular girl in school and also, just how bitchy and spiteful some girls can be. I hated high school and I sometimes wish I could go back as the person I am, that would be fun! Tasha has an army of girls that follow her and pander to her every need – they’re known as the Barbies. I hate that Becca had to change herself just to fit in, when she would have been just as happier being on her own and not friends with manipulative people.

13 minutes is clever, mysterious and nostalgic – the phrase keep your enemies close and your friends closer is one statement that this book reminded me of and made me want to follow.


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

4 thoughts on “Book Review: 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

Leave a Reply

