Relight my fire…

Nope, I don’t mean the Take That song where Lulu made an appearance, I mean the fire within me and the passion for book blogging!

When I first started blogging I felt like this:

Friends, Happy Dance!

But now, I’m starting to feel like this:

Sad Face

Sad, isn’t it?

The thing is, when I first started I had lots of spare time and a job that didn’t require travelling and also, that it had different hours, and now? I don’t seem to have ANY spare time and it’s stressing me out a little bit. I love reading and do read quite often, so that’s good, but now, I feel like the reviewing bit and blogging about books things is taking a back seat.

When I get home from work I don’t fancy getting my Laptop out and blogging, but more that I fancy a brew and a good book to read in bed.

So, I’m going to try a few things to help me make sure I don’t start hating blogging!

Close my review requests
I feel sad about doing this, but I am not currently accepting any new review requests. At the moment, I seem to be focusing my time on reading request books and not reading the books I’ve purchased myself. ย I will be sure to open requests soon, though – keep your eyes on my review policy page!

Pick a day to blog and actually use it
As it says above, I need to pick a day (or evening) to blog and actually use it. I tend to blog on my phone and the visual takes a back seat, I need to start using Photoshop again! If I actually sit down at my Laptop and blog, I know my blog will definitely have posts ready!

Take a hiatus now and again
I think it’s healthy to take a little break and I’ve decided that I might take a blogging break here and there, just so I can keep on-top of things.

I know the above are quite easy things to do and only little, but ย I’m sure they’ll make a huge difference to me!

Have you ever felt like you just wanted to give in? Let me know in the comments below!


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

13 thoughts on “Relight my fire…

  1. Donna says:

    Sometimes I find it hard to pick my laptop and blog because it takes me an awful amount of time to come up with a post, whether it be a review or a discussion post. As a language learner, it is difficult to express everything the exact way I want to, and every now and then I feel it makes it too hard to keep blogging as it takes away big chunks of my reading time. But then I remember how much I love interacting with the amazing people I’ve met around here and I stop worrying about my bad English for a while. I am lucky to be working part-time and not having to many responsibilities, but it can be very hard to juggle everything. I actually chose a day (Wednesday) and told everyone around me this was “blog time”. I read posts throughout the day and spend my evening writing mine and discussing. No matter what happens in my week, it’s my weekly meeting with fellow bloggers. I hope your three points will help you and make a difference so that you can keep liking blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Janet MacLeod Trotter says:

    You have to adapt to your new circumstances and you’ve obviously worked out a method to keep going on a more limited scale. That’s great – you don’t want it to be a chore. So be kind to yourself! I’m sure when time allows and you’re refreshed by the break, you’ll get back to reviewing. All the best, Janet ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. sheliruss1 says:

    I know exactly how you feel and that’s why I closed my last blog. I do enjoy blogging which is why my new one is more lifestyle focused with a hint of books. I got to the point with Sheli Reads that it felt like I had two jobs and just couldn’t enjoy it anymore. Remember, it’s a hobby and you need to ensure that you’re still doing it for enjoyment, not for it to become a chore, so do whatever is best for you to reignite your love of blogging and make sure it doesn’t affect your love of reading like it did with me. Xx

  4. Althea says:

    I had to close my review requests as well, it was giving me the same feelings! I felt like I couldn’t turn away a request, and then if the book was awful (which most of them were…), I felt bad giving it a poor review…
    I don’t have any regrets though! I’m much happier now, and I got that blogging feeling back since I started reviewing books that I actually wanted to read and chose for myself ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you for writing this post! And know that you’re not alone in feeling those things ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  5. rathertoofondofbooks says:

    I love blogging but I do find it harder to make time for it these days. I’ve started giving myself a time frame where I do my blogging and I schedule posts in advance, then once my time is up I stop and anything not done has to wait until my next block of time. It was hard to stick to at first but it’s definitely making life easier now and I enjoy it more because I’ve taken the pressure off myself. I also like to take time to read and comment and share other people’s blog posts so now I do that in short bursts when, for example, I’m having a coffee so it feels relaxing again rather than something I feel I have to do. The other thing I’m trying to do is to make time to read at least a couple of my own books each month and I give myself permission to just enjoy the book without trying to remember things for a review as I’m reading. If after I finish reading I want to review it from memory then fine but I don’t read my own books with the intention to review anymore. It’s amazing how relaxing it is and it reminds me that reading is meant to be my hobby not my job and there has to be a balance.The main thing I always try to keep in mind is that it’s meant to be fun and not a chore so keep changing up how you go about it until it feels fun again. I hope you find a way that works for you.

    • Clare says:

      You’ve found a great schedule, as I always see you post regularly and there’s great ones too ๐Ÿ˜Š I’m going to use some of your tips – thank you! X

Leave a Reply

