Book Review: The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern

Cecelia Ahern - the marble collectorFormat: Hardback
Published: 29th October 2015
Publisher: Harper Collins
Pages: 304 Pages

The Blurb
When Sabrina Boggs stumbles upon a mysterious collection of her father’s possessions, she discovers a truth where she never knew there was a lie. The familiar man she grew up with is suddenly a stranger to her.

An unexpected break in her monotonous daily routine leaves her just one day to unlock the secrets of the man she thought she knew. A day that unearths memories, stories and people she never knew existed. A day that changes her and those around her forever.

The Marble Collector is a thought-provoking novel about how the most ordinary decisions we make can have the most extraordinary consequences for how we live our lives. And how sometimes it’s only by shining on a light on someone else, that you can truly understand yourself.


The Review
I bought The Marble Collector on a trip to London – I think I may have bought it from Foyles! I’m a big fan of Cecelia’s. so naturally I knew I had to buy this novel. I can’t believe that this is the twelfth from her collection!

The story floats between two people, Sabrina and her father Fergus. We learn about Fergus’s passion for marbles  and more importantly, his extensive marble collection. For Sabrina, it’s a quest for answers,  why are two pieces of her dad’s collection missing? She finds more than she bargained for and also, lands on a journey of self-discovery. I could see The Marble Collector being split into two. I would have liked to see each of their lives elaborated more because I felt we only had the thoughts and feelings from Sabrina, and I wanted to learn more about how Fergus felt.

As with all Cecelia Ahern novels, there’s a strong focus on Ireland and the Irish Heritage – a place that I find quite interesting. I’ve never been myself, but I would like to visit. Cecelia paints a great picture on the surroundings and it definitely makes it easier for you to get involved in the story. Many of Fergus’s dealings are about his past in Ireland and how his family lived before modern day living. Fergus really cared for his family, especially his brother, Harry (I actually can’t remember his name) and that’s what got him into playing marbles, rather than just a hobby.

Given that I’m a big fan, I find it hard to connect with the story. The concept was great, like nothing I’ve read before, but a little lacking in excitement. A few people have asked if they should read it and I’m torn between telling them yes or no. Yes, because it’s nice and you learn a few life lessons from Sabrina’s father, but also no, because I feel a little like I wasted a few hours of my life. However, as with anything, take reviews with a pinch of salt, each book is different to every reader.


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

