Book Review: The Name I Call Myself by Beth Moran

The name I call myself by Beth Moran

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: 15th July 2016
Pages: 338 Pages

The Blurb
The good news for Faith is that she has met Perry. He’s rich, gorgeous and has vowed to leave his playboy ways behind forever and marry her.

The bad news is that Perry’s mother is planning Faith’s nightmare wedding, including the dress from hell. While dreaming about her ideal ceremony, Faith goes to her mother’s church – and ends up joining the choir! Here she meets a man who makes her feel safe, perhaps even safe enough to share the dark secrets that are catching up with her. Secrets she’s not even confided in her fiance, despite the fact that danger is closing in…


The Review
Thank you to Lion Hudson for sending me a copy of The Name I Call Myself to read and review. Today, is also my stop on the #TheNameICallMyself blog tour!

Faith is due to get married to eligible bachelor Perry Upperton,  or Peregrine as he’s affectionately known, but is Faith up to the challenge?  She has his mother Larissa to contend with and Larissa is taking no prisoners. Let’s just say that Larissa is the mother-in-law from hell. She doesn’t let Faith. or even Perry, make the decisions for their own wedding and basically tells them it’s her way or no way. I know it’s awfully difficult to try and say no to someone, but god, I would to Larissa. I’m in the process of planning a wedding and if someone told me I couldn’t have what I wanted, I think I would bite a few heads off. Tom and I are great at choosing things together and that’s fine, but when it’s other people trying to tell you what to have, that’s when it gets complicated. Larissa certainly does it to try and cause friction between Faith and Perry and I think it’s because Faith isn’t like the rest of them. Faith doesn’t come from money and is quite content with the simple ways – they say opposites attract, but Faith and Perry are far from the perfect couple.

YES, YES; YES, I absolutely loved how independent Faith was and she definitely didn’t need no man to make her complete. Yes, she bowed to Larissa’s demands, but I think that’s different, she was still independent.

I will guiltily admit that when I read a blurb and notice that the female lead has a strong man by her side, I sigh. I don’t understand why (some) authors always make the female character weak and reliant on a man for money, or happiness. Beth on the other hand made me smile and as described at the beginning I shouted, yes, yes; yes when I started reading. Even with Perry being a fountain of fortune, Faith still worked hard to pay her own bills and have her own home. Perry is incredibly rich, so she definitely didn’t need to work, he even happily wanted to give her money, but she declined. Why fix something if it isn’t broken? You don’t fall in love with someone for their money, you fall in love with them for who they are and that’s definitely how Faith behaved.

The Name I Call Myself is perfectly balanced between Faith’s happiness and suffering. You learn that her past isn’t the most forgiving and she’s consistently trying to hide from people and things. She finds solace in the church choir group, especially choir master Hester, who tries to instill confidence in her singers by embarking on team building exercises. What a great thing to read, women actually being comfortable in their own skin and embracing who they are!

I have also read I Hope You Dance and Making Marion by Beth, which were both really great books to read – grab yourself a copy!


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

