Book Review: The Missing Wife by Sheila O’Flanagan 

The Missing Wife book by Sheila O'Flanagan cover

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Headline Books
Published: 16th June 2016
Pages: 480 Pages

The Blurb
It’s the perfect marriage. Everyone says so, even her closest friend. Really, as Vince has pointed out, many times, Imogen just couldn’t manage without him. And he’s saved her from the family that didn’t love her.

Couldn’t she? And has he?

There’s only one way to find out. Imogen’s on a journey in search of herself. But her past is right on her heels…


The Review
Thank you to Headline Books for sending me a copy of The Missing Wife to read and review.

I read The Missing Wife whilst away in London, so it’s safe to say it kept me company on the journey. I compared myself, a little, to how Imogen wanted to get away from everything and everyone because being away in London was lonesome and it made me realise that I don’t want to get away from home life or my life in Wales!

The Missing Wife is a two perspective story, the first being from  Imogen (a detailed account of her new life in France) and the second from Vince (and his quest to find his missing wife).

Imogen has devised a plan, which involves  leaving her husband, Vince and ‘running away’.  You learn that  Vince is incredibly controlling, he’s definitely the one who wears the trousers in their relationship and not in a  good way! An awfully repetitive comment from me, but I just can’t comprehend how someone could treat their partner the way Vince does Imogen. Vince even controls the way in which Imogen dresses – I think that’s madness! I don’t doubt that there are relationships right this minute experiencing the same similarities as the one detailed in this book.

I liked learning about Imogen’s childhood, especially when she visited the old haunts of her time in France. I always try to paint a picture of where the characters live and to me, France was idyllic and peaceful, definitely a great location for Imogen to escape to.

Some people will read this novel and wonder why Imogen just disappeared. Surely it would be best to talk about the problems with your husband, rather than just run away? Imogen didn’t even tell her close friends about ‘the plan’. Before reading the novel I would have agreed and maybe thought it would be best for Imogen to go talk to Vince, but when you learn more about him, you realise you’re never gonna win. He manipulates conversations and turns them around to make Imogen believe she’s in the wrong, when in fact it’s Vince.

I will be honest and say I think the book could be condensed into fewer pages, 480 seemed an awful lot considering the nature of the story. Also, I have mixed emotions on the ending, I’m not sure if it was the right direction to go.


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

