#bookreview: Never Again by Nicky Clifford

Join me today for my stop on the Never Again #blogtour: Mountains, Mystery; Romance.

About the book

Never Again Book CoverFormat: Kindle (E-book)
Published: 21st October 2016
Pages: 358 Pages

The Blurb
Mountains, Mystery, Romance: Can you run from your past?

Harriet Anderson’s life is spiralling out of control. Unused to such mayhem, she ditches her high-powered job to take refuge in the Swiss Alps where she meets Philippe Smith, a crime writer with a dark and shadowy past. Thrown together by chance, is their fate intertwined? Will the karma and romance of the mountains and the quaintness of the Alps soothe their troubled souls?

Or will their rocky paths create avalanches that cannot be avoided…

Purchase the book: Amazon UK


The Review

Welcome to my stop on the Never Again Blog Tour!

Never Again is the first novel I have read of Nicky’s and I will admit that it’s very rare I accept self-published authors for review, but everyone deserves a chance, right? Plus, with the blurb and my need for a little romance in my book life, I thought I’d give Never Again a go.

Harriet leaves the past behind her to embark on a working holiday in the Swiss Alps. Here she meets writer and retired tennis player, Philippe, who Harriet may have a sneaky crush on!

The pair don’t have it easy, they have a very turbulent relationship usually influenced by their over-thinking minds and lack of self confidence. Equally, they both have their own demons to fight and have been hurt terribly in the past, which has an impact on their behaviour. Philippe has the lasting effects of a injury which is something he definitely struggles to comprehend, with Harriet suffering emotional pain from the heartache of losing her Mother to illness.

As mentioned previous, Philippe and Harriet don’t have it easy – picture it in your mind as an emotional rollercoaster, there are highs and lows, with dramatic inclusions throughout. Sometimes I did find it a little annoying that they both got angry with each other over a few little things. I know they had emotional problems, but I wondered if they should just have spoken about it, rather than walking off.

I loved how Elspeth (a hotel guest that Harriet becomes close to) becomes part of the story. She naturally takes on the role of Harriet’s mother and is her Guardian Angel. Everyone in life should have someone to care for them, regardless if they’re a blood relation or not. She reminded me of my Nan and that was a brilliant feeling.

For a debut novel, Nicky’s writing is perfect, immersing you in the story which means you read in one sitting.

Going forward, I most definitely will consider more self-published authors to read and review.

Check out the other stops on the tour below:


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

