#bookreview: A Pug like Percy by Fiona Harrison

A furry festive miracle who’s there for you with a helping paw. Percy definitely isn’t just for Christmas…

About the book…

wp-image-481421712jpg.jpegFormat: Hardback
Publisher: HQ/Harper Collins UK
Published: 3rd November 2016
Pages: 384 Pages

The Blurb
Percy is homeless, abandoned by his owner at an animal rescue centre on a cold winter’s night. So when he finds a loving new home with Gail and her family, his deepest wish is that this time, it’s forever.

Gail hopes that Percy will be the little miracle that her family so desperately needs. Her young daughter, Jenny, is in and out of hospital and she’s only just holding things together with her husband, Simon.

With the family at breaking point, and Christmas just around the corner, is Percy the furry friend they’ve all been waiting for?

Full of hope and utterly heartwarming, A Pug Like Percy is the perfect read for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Alfie the Doorstep Cat.

Purchase the book: Amazon UK | Book Depository


The Review

I am officially in love with Percy, he is adorable and I want to take him home with me, right now! Mac my dog may be a little jealous, but he won’t complain when he has a friend to play with.

The moment I saw the cute little pug on the front cover, I knew I was in for great things. I imagined it to be a love story with Percy aiding in the romance, but it was a nice surprise to read the first chapters and see that Percy was in fact the narrator and this was his life story. What a great touch, that’s all I can say! It definitely needed to differ from the typical stories on the shelf and Percy the pug certainly did that. I imagined Percy as a little boy being adopted by Gail where his little heart would grow with the warmth of his new family. You forgot on numerous occasions that Percy was a dog, but it was nice to remember that it was.

The story starts with Percy in the ‘tails are forgotten’dogs home, where he is sad that his owner Xavier has given him up for adoption. Percy asks himself lots of questions: what have I done wrong? was I naughty? don’t they love me anymore? I hate to think animals are being left at shelters because they’re not wanted or need to be re-homed, I hate taking Mac to the Kennels as it is! During this time, I felt the sadness radiate out of Percy and his shelter friends. However, Gail steps in to save the day and adopts Percy into her family.

Gail is going through a tough time, her husband is becoming distant and her daughter Jenny has a heart condition that may end up needing her to have a heart transplant. Percy becomes part of the family from day one and adds some happiness into what is currently a sad atmosphere.

Percy takes it upon himself to try and mend Gail and Simon’s problems, and uses his friends from the park to help. He arranges a lovely little picnic by cleverly distracting the security guard at the local Co Op. I will admit that some things Percy did were a little far fetched, but hey, I’m reading fiction, so who cares!

I read the book in only two sittings, travelling to and from London. Tom saw the cover and renamed the book ‘Pug Life’, which made Tom imagine him with a pair of shades on, looking all cool.


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#bookreview: A Pug like Percy by Fiona Harrison

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s