#bookreview: Talking As Fast As I Can by Lauren Graham

About the book…

Lauren Graham memoir

Format: Hardback
Published: 6th December 2016
Publisher: Virago Press
Pages: 224 Pages

The Blurb
In Talking as Fast as I Can, Lauren Graham hits pause for a moment and looks back on her life, sharing laugh-out-loud stories about growing up, starting out as an actress, and, years later, sitting in her trailer on the Parenthood set and asking herself, “Did you, um, make it?” She opens up about the challenges of being single in Hollywood (“Strangers were worried about me; that’s how long I was single!”), the time she was asked to audition her butt for a role, and her experience being a judge on Project Runway (“It’s like I had a fashion-induced blackout”).

Some more things you will learn about Lauren: She once tried to go vegan just to bond with Ellen DeGeneres, she’s aware that meeting guys at awards shows has its pitfalls (“If you’re meeting someone for the first time after three hours of hair, makeup, and styling, you’ve already set the bar too high”), and she’s a card-carrying REI shopper (“My bungee cords now earn points!”).

Including photos and excerpts from the diary Graham kept during the filming of the recent Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, this book is like a cozy night in, catching up with your best friend, laughing and swapping stories, and—of course—talking as fast as you can.

Purchase the book: Amazon UK | Book Depository


The Review

It seems to be a common occurrence for me to read books and/or watch movies and TV programmes several years later than everyone else. So, it’s no surprise that I haven’t watched the Gilmore Girls, or know anything about Lauren’s life. However, once I’d finished her collection of memoirs, I felt like I’d known Lauren for years and that we were the best of friends – how creepy does that sound? he he.

Talking As Fast As I Can is a all about Lauren’s life (obviously!), where she details events such as: her childhood, early career, relationships and of course, her successful acting career in the Gilmore Girls.

It’s refreshing to read a celebrity story where there’s no drama. Granted she suffered things like you and I, but there was no scandalous kiss-and-tells plastered with drink and drugs. Each to their own and such like, but for me, Lauren’s life made me smile. Her words were humorous, genuine and easy to read, which as mentioned, probably aids into why you feel like you know her so well. I particularly liked her college and University years.

It looks like I’m gonna have to start watching the Gilmore Girls, doesn’t it? 😉


clare
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

