#bookreview: I love my computer because my friends live in it by Jess Kimball Leslie

Format: E-book
Publish Date: 25th April 2017
Publisher: Running Press
Pages: 240 Pages

The Blurb
I Love My Computer Because My Friends Live in It is tech analyst Jess Kimball Leslie’s hilarious, frank homage to the technology that contributed so significantly to the person she is today. From accounts of the lawless chat rooms of early AOL to the perpetual high school reunions that are modern-day Facebook and Instagram, her essays paint a clear picture: That all of us have a much more twisted, meaningful, emotional relationship with the online world than we realize or let on.

Pre-order/Purchase this book: Amazon UK

The Review

I Love My Computer Because My Friends Live in It: Stories from an Online Life was a spur of the moment request from Net Galley. I read the blurb and knew I had to give it a go. I love learning about new technology and how it’s going to aid our lives in the future. I’m a little bit of a contradiction because although I love all things traditional – paperback books, time away from a screen, etc – I also love computer-aided ‘things’ – Social Media, Computers in general, smartphones, etc.

Hands-down this book is one of the funniest things I’ve read in 2017, as well as being brutally honest and thoughtful. Jess Kimball Leslie essentially takes you on a journey starting with her childhood,  detailing her teenage years and then the list of jobs she has within the technology industry. You’ll find out about the things to do with the growth of the Internet, when we all LOVED MySpace (remember Tom?) and onto the present where we learn about the dominance of Facebook and the art of the selfie.

Nostalgia is probably the best word to describe this book because it made you realise just how rubbish the Internet was back in the day. I remember when you had to wait about 5 minutes for the computer to load ANYTHING, if your family were on the house phone you couldn’t use the Internet, and how MySpace was the best thing since sliced bread. If you’ve never experienced the anger of the dial-up modem, you’ve never lived. However, if you’ve never been apart of the 90’s Internet, I’m not sure if you’d appreciate the book as much. Saying that, it may be an eye-opener for those that are used to fast broadband and their Social Media addiction!

If you’re after a funny, light-hearted and nostalgic read I love My Computer is just for you.


Clare Signature
Connect with A Book and Tea!
Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

