#bookreview: Mr Peacock’s Possessions by @LydiaSyson

Published by

on

Format: Hardback
Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Published: 17th May 2018
Pages: 432 Pages
Genre: Fiction, Historical, American, Literature.

The Blurb
Oceania 1879. A family of settlers from New Zealand are the sole inhabitants of a remote volcanic island.

For two years they have struggled with the harsh reality of trying to make this unforgiving place a paradise they can call their own. At last, a ship appears. The six Pacific Islanders on board have travelled eight hundred miles across the ocean in search of work and new horizons. Hopes are high for all until a vulnerable boy vanishes. In their search for the lost child, settlers and newcomers together uncover far more than they were looking for. The island¹s secrets force them all to question their deepest convictions.

An intimate, intense and beautifully realised novel of possession, power and the liberating loss of innocence, this will delight fans of MISTER PIP and THE POISONWOOD BIBLE.

Purchase the book: Amazon UK | Book Depository


THE REVIEW

What a wonderfully written piece from Lydia Syson. Mr Peacock’s Possession makes me want to read historical fiction more often than I usually do. Each time I turn the first page of a his-fic, I shy away because I worry that I’m not going to enjoy the topic. However, travelling back to 1879 with Mr Peacock filled my mind with curiosity. I did jump onto Google to find out some more about Oceania which I have to admit is interesting.

The small New Zealand Island is home to two different communities which come together to make it their home. Sadly, a small child goes missing and in a bid to try and find him all their dark secrets make an appearance.

I thought the book’s title was clever. You presume it is referring to objects that Mr Peacock’s most values when in reality it’s talking about the people of the island. You can sense how the Islanders are feeling by each of their stories. The novel highlights certain characters POVs and their differences.

I noticed from reading page one that the book would air a pessimistic and dark feeling. Given the nature of people’s attitudes during the 19th Century, I doubt life was always a pleasant experience.

Check out the other stops on the tour below!

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com